Mr. Ed’s Churchill Downs and Aqueduct Best Bets

Let’s look at Saturday’s Churchill Downs best bets and a special pick from Aqueduct.

A TALE OF TWO GREYS: Imagine my surprise when my dentist, a casual racing fan, came into the examining room proclaiming, “I sure as Hell had the Preakness winner,” attempting to give me a high-five, which I declined. “What happened, hot-shot handicapper? I thought for sure you had Seize the Grey after I gave you Mystic Dan in the Derby,” he rubbed it in.”  I replied, “How could a two-dollar punter like you pick both winners? I put in hours of research before sharing the names of two losers with the gambling world on VSiN. I am still feeling the pain and humiliation of defeat.” His reply, “Hey, Mr. Ed, what you do is not rocket science. A total amateur like me just picks the grey horses and cashes tickets. You should have seized the greys — and never bet the same grey twice.”

 

BELMONT AT SARATOGA: The Belmont Stakes, the third jewel in the Triple Crown, will be run in two weeks on Saturday, June 8. The race is shaping up to be an extremely competitive affair, featuring as many as a dozen of the best 3YOs in training. Horseplayers are familiar with several of the horses, but they will see a few others for the first time as they take a big step up into Grade 1 stakes company. Here is Mr. Ed’s listing of 10 potential starters (as of May 24): Sierra Leone, Mystik Dan, Seize the Grey, Fierceness, Honor Marie, Antiquarian, West Saratoga, Thorpedo Anna, Catch the Freedom and The Wine Steward.

Mr. Ed’s Picks to Play at Churchill Downs

Race 7 (3:51 p.m. ET/12:51 p.m. PT) — $134K Allowance-Claiming at 5½-furlongs on the turf for 3YOs & up
Mr. Ed likes #6 CLEAR THE AIR (5-1 morning line). Super-quick 4YO son of Ransom the Moon scored an upset win at Keeneland four weeks ago. I see no reason why this guy can’t repeat the closing effort for trainer Bill Walden, who replaces Joel Rosario with Jose Ortiz. Clear the Winner’s Circle.
CHURCHILL DOWNS BEST BET: $20 To Win. ($20)

Race 8 (4:23 p.m. ET/1:23 p.m. PT) — $54K Starter-Allowance at 7 furlongs for 3YOs & up
I like #9 LANDLORD (4-1 morning line) as he adds furlong after a successful sprint at Oaklawn Park last month when ridden by young hot-shot Keith Asmussen, who retains the ride. Fast sophomore gelding looks to improve his record to 3-of-4 for trainer Ron Moquett. Sharp recent work. Rent is due.
CHURCHILL DOWNS BEST BET $10 Win & PLACE. ($20)

Races 8-11 (4:23 p.m. ET/1:23 p.m. PT) — Mr. Ed’s SPECIAL $.50 PICK 4
R8: 6,9
R9: 3,4,7,8
R10: 2,5
R11: 6,9,11  ($24)

Race 9 (4:55 p.m. ET/1:55 p.m. PT) — $17K Allowance-Claiming for 3YO fillies at 6 furlongs
Mr. Ed likes #7 NAY V BELLE (5-1 morning line) for sneaky-good, new trainer Greg Foley and superior jockey Frankie Dettori, who stays in the saddle. Gal flashed ability in three previous races at Santa Anita. Ride the wave.
CHURCHILL DOWNS BEST BETS: $10 to Win and in $5 Exacta boxes with 3,4,8. ($40)

Race 10 (5:27 p.m. ET/2:27 p.m. PT) — $250K Keertana Stakes for fillies and mares at 1 1/2-mile on turf
Mr. Ed likes #2 CHOP CHOP (9-5 morning line) for top conditioner Brad Cox and Eclipse-winner apprentice jockey Axel Concepcion, who knows how to steer veteran filly to Winner’s Circle. Drops in class after G3 stakes score at Keeneland.
CHURCHILL DOWNS BEST BETS: $10 to Win and $5 DAILY DOUBLES: 2,5/6,9,11. ($40)

MR. ED’S AQUEDUCT BIG BONUS STAKES BET OF DAY
Race 7 (3:39 p.m. ET/12:39 p.m. PT) — G2 $200K Pennine Ridge Stakes at 1 ⅛-mile on outer turf for 3YOs
Mr. Ed likes three: #2 LEGEND OF TIME (2-1 morning) for Charlie Appleby; #3 RISK TOLERANCE (3-1) for Chad Brown, and #7 TRIPLE ESPRESSO (4-1) for Todd Pletcher.
AQUEDUCT BEST BET: $5 Exacta Box of 2,3,7 ($30)

TOTAL WAGERS: $174

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and in honor of triple crown season - here's a deal for your first month half off.