Jeff Siegel’s Horse Racing Picks for Saturday 8/20

16

Xpressbet writer Jeff Siegel offers his top plays for Saturday.

Saratoga Race No. 7 (3:52 p.m. ET/12:52 p.m. PT)
#5 Echo Again (9-5)

 

This first-time starter is supposed to be one of the barn’s best prospects, and as a son of Gun Runner from the dam of the speedy Pneumatic we’ll be anxious to see if he runs to his works.  Based on his workout video, this colt is immensely talented and has enough speed to win at first asking and enough stamina (and pedigree) to run on later in his career. At 9-5 on the morning line (hope we can get it), we’ll make him a strong Win play and rolling exotic single.

Del Mar Race No. 10 (9:34 p.m. ET/6:34 p.m. PT)
#5 Infinite Empire (6-1)

This well-regarded sophomore filly returned off a long layoff in a dirt sprint to finish steadily when fourth while appearing to need the race and today seems likely to step forward significantly while stretching out to a distance and surface she’s bred to love. The Richard Mandella-trained filly continues to impress in the morning, retains top rider Juan Hernandez, and should be able to settle in the first flight in a race that projects to have moderate early fractions. She is listed at 6-1 on the morning line and will offer excellent wagering value at or near that price. 

You can bet these races and more using 1/ST BET, the preferred horse betting app of VSiN. Sign up HERE using the code HORSE200 for a $10 instant bonus plus a $200 deposit match.

%%newsletter%%