Jeff Siegel’s Horse Racing Picks for Saturday 9/3

19

Xpressbet writer Jeff Siegel offers his top plays for Saturday.

Saratoga Race No. 7 (3:22 p.m. ET/12:22 p.m. PT)
#9 Meraas (6-1)

 

This Group 3 stakes winner from Dubai makes his first U.S. start and will bring his regular rider with him in this second level allowance main track sprint for older horses. The Chad Summer-trained gelding has looked terrific in the morning while getting geared up for his first outing since February, and from his cozy outside draw the English-bred 5-year-old should have every chance to secure a comfortable stalking early position and seal the deal when called upon. His overseas form is powerful – his Timeform ratings make him simply better and faster than this group – so at 6-1 on the morning line he offers excellent wagering value as a Win play and rolling exotic single.

Saratoga Race No. 8 (3:58 p.m. ET/12:58 p.m. PT)
#9 Fantasist (8-1)

First time starter by Always Dreaming brought $550,000 at the Timonium 2-year-old in training sale last spring after breezing in :21 2/5 around that bullring’s tight turns, doing so in very impressive fashion like a stone runner. He hasn’t been asked to display that kind of speed while preparing for this outing – there’s no need for it – but we’re expecting the Todd Pletcher-trained colt to turn on the jets in this seven-furlong event and show his best stuff. He's listed at 8-1 on the morning line and we suspect he’s much better than that.

You can bet these races and more using 1/ST BET, the preferred horse betting app of VSiN. Sign up HERE using the code HORSE200 for a $10 instant bonus plus a $200 deposit match.