HomeHorse RacingMr. Ed's Best Bets for Gulfstream Park on Saturday, March 2

    Mr. Ed’s Best Bets for Gulfstream Park on Saturday, March 2

    Veteran handicapper Ed Sehon shares his best bets at Gulfstream Park on Saturday, March 2.

    -

    Mr. Ed’s Gulfstream Park Best Bets

    TRACKING MR. ED: No handicapper likes to lose, especially when he picks a winning horse yet fails to cash a ticket. Last week, I selected favorite Timberlake in the Rebel Stakes at Oaklawn Park, but only bet him in Exactas. He won. I lost. Then I picked Run Classic as my Bonus Bet in the Gulfstream Park Sprint Stakes, yet failed to back him at the windows. He won. I lost. It’s time for Mr. Ed to resume his winning ways and get over his errors of the previous days with his Gulfstream Park best bets. A final footnote on the NFL: Had I known the fruits of my most successful season ever would wind up being a new washer and dryer, I might not have worked so hard.

    RACING HALL OF FAME: Earlier this week, nine horses, six trainers and two jockeys were nominated for membership. Of those Mr. Ed believes Gio Ponti, Havre de Grace, Kona Gold, Justify and Rags to Riches merit selection along with trainers Christophe Clement and Graham Motion and jockey Joel Rosario.

     

    MR. ED’S DERBY DOZEN: With only nine weeks until the 2024 annual Run for the Roses, here are Mr. Ed’s early Kentucky Derby selections, in order of preference: 1-Dornoch; 2-Timberlake; 3-Sierra Leone; 4-Speak Easy; 5-Hall of Fame; 6-Locked; 7-Fierceness; 8-Domestic Product; 9-Victory Avenue; 10-Conquest Warrior (off Friday win); 11-Mystik Dan, and 12-Liberal Arts (subject to change each week).

    TODAY AT THE RACES: There are four Kentucky Derby qualifying-points races on Saturday, including The Gotham at Aqueduct, The San Felipe at Santa Anita (postponed until Sunday), The Battaglia Stakes at Turfway and The Fountain of Youth at Gulfstream, where Mr. Ed winds up sharing his best bets from the 14-race card. First post at Gulfstream is 11:15 a.m. ET/8:15 a.m. PT.

    COUNT ON PLETCHER: With runners entered in 13 of the 14 contests, look for HOF trainer Todd Pletcher to have a banner day at Gulfstream. Others worth following are popular South Florida-based conditioner Saffie Joseph Jr. with nine entered and always tough Chad Brown with five listed to compete. As for jockeys, the brothers Ortiz (Irad and Jose) and Tyler Gaffalione, all with live mounts, could well visit the Winner’s Circle more than once.

    MR. ED’S BEST BETS AT GULFSTREAM PARK

    Race 7 (2:15 p.m. ET/11:15 a.m. PT) — G2 $200K Mac Diarmida Stakes at 1 ⅜-mile on turf, 4YOs & up
    I like a trio to get stakes wagering off to a profitable start. #3 HEADLINE NEWS (12-1 morning line) for sneaky good trainer Jimmy Toner; returning pro #7 TAWNY PORT (6-1) for Christophe Clement, and #9 SIX MINUS (5-1) for the deep Todd Pletcher barn.
    Gulfstream Park Best Bet: $5 Exacta box of 3,7,9. ($30)

    Race 8 (2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT) — G3 $200K Herecomesthebride Stakes at mile on turf for 3YO fillies
    Mr. Ed likes the #7 LIFE’S AN AUDIBLE (5-2 morning line) to run down others late in the stretch. It’s hard to beat the Repole-Pletcher-Irad Jr. connections as the talented filly cuts back to a mile. I can hear Peyton barking, “Omaha, Omaha.”
    Gulfstream Park Best Bet: $20 to Win. ($20)

    Race 10 (3:49 p.m. ET/12:49 p.m. PT) — G3 $150K Very One Stakes at 1 ⅜-mile on turf for fillies & mares 3 & up
    Mr. Ed likes maturing #10 R CALLI KIM (7-2 morning line) to defeat a salty group of females. Breaking from the outermost post, she should excel in her second start back from a lengthy vacation for trainer Brendan Walsh and crafty rider Tyler Gaffalione. She’s our gal.
    Gulfstream Park Best Bet: $10 to Win & Place. ($20)

    Race 12 (4:53 p.m. ET/1:53 p.m. PT) — G3 Canadian Turf Stakes at 1 1/16-mile for 4YOs & up
    I’m betting lightly raced #4 TURF KING (8-1 morning line) to upset nine others in this grass test. The late bloomer has won three of four lifetime for Chad Brown. Return to South Florida with Tyler Gaffalione are keys to success. Hail to the King.
    Gulfstream Park Best Bet: $10 to Win & Place. ($20)

    Race 13 (5:23 p.m. ET/2:23 p.m. PT) — G3 $150k Honey Fox Stakes at mile on turf for fillies and mares, 4YOs & up
    Mr. Ed likes three to prevail and set up a late Daily Double score. He’ll bet trio of #3 BE MY SUNSHINE (9-2 morning line), #5 WALKATHON (5-1) and #6 CHILI FLAG (9-5).
    Gulfstream Park Best Bet: $5 Exacta box of 3,5,6 & $4 Daily Doubles of 3,5,6/1,3,5 ($66)

    Race 14 (6:10 p.m. ET/3:10 p.m. PT) — G2 $400K Fountain of Youth Stakes at 1 1/16-mile for 3YOs.
    Mr. Ed’s Best Bet of Day is #5 DORNOCH (2-1 morning line) for excellent trainer Danny Gargan. Game guy came back in stretch to capture Remsen. Making his 3YO debut, look for him to savor the extra distance. Sharp rider Luis Saez stays in the saddle. Knock! Knock! He’s home at the wire.
    Gulfstream Park Best Bet: $20 to Win & Place. ($40)

    TOTAL WAGERS: $196 

    BONUS BETS:

    R10-Gotham Stakes at Aqueduct: $5 to Win & Place on #8 BERGEN (9-2)
    R6-Battaglia Stakes at Turfway: $10 to Win on #4 BOLT AT MIDNIGHT (4-1)
    R5-San Felipe Stakes at Santa Anita (Sunday): $20 to Win on #3 NYSOS (1-5)

    Must Read

    white sox

    Should You Bet Against the Chicago White Sox in Every Game?

    0
    Betting against the White Sox this season Update: The White Sox were shut out by the Twins 7-0 Monday to drop to 3-19. The record for...