HomeHorse RacingMr. Ed's Best Bets for Oaklawn Park on Saturday, February 24

    Mr. Ed’s Best Bets for Oaklawn Park on Saturday, February 24

    Veteran handicapper Ed Sehon shares his best bets at Oaklawn for Saturday, February 24.

    -

    Mr. Ed’s Oaklawn Park Best Bets

    TRACKING MR. ED: Last Saturday at Fair Grounds a Win ($80) + a Place ($14) + an Exacta ($76.50) = $170.50 worth of winning tickets on $180 in posted racing action. A net loss of $9.50, an improvement over the previous week and indicates profitable days ahead, including my Oaklawn Park best bets.

    DERBY COUNTDOWN: With 10 weeks to go until the May 4 Run for the Roses, here are Mr. Ed’s EXCLUSIVE ELEVEN top contenders: 1-Dornoch, 2-Siena Leone, 3-Timberlake (choice to win today’s Race 11 at Oaklawn, see below), 4-Fierceness, 5-Track Phantom, 6-Hall of Fame, 7-Locked, 8-Hades, 9-Domestic Product, 10-Nysos (Baffert trained, currently not eligible) and 11-Victory Avenue. (Subject to change each week)

     

    ON THE ROAD TO KENTUCKY DERBY (continued): Today finds Mr. Ed’s picks at Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs, Arkansas, featuring the $1.25 million G2 Rebel Stakes for 3YOs. The super-competitive 12-race card features three other stakes and totals more than $3.4 million in purse money. Weather forecast: Sunny. Track condition: Fast&Firm. Infield: Open … While Oakland is one of the few tracks Mr. Ed has yet to visit, everything he’s heard about the Arkansas oval is positive. “Hot Springs and the track are Saratoga Springs south,” according to a lifelong horseplaying friend. On Mr. Ed’s bucket list.

    WHO TO WATCH TODAY AT OAKLAWN: Jockeys Chris Landeros, Keith Asmussen, Tyler Gaffalione and BJ Hernandez all have live mounts and merit consideration … Trainers Steve Asmussen, Brad Cox, D. Wayne Lukas and Kenny McPeek all have several entries and will compete for trips to the Winner’s Circle … First race post time at Oaklawn Park is 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT. Here are Mr. Ed’s selections:

    Race 4 (2:31 p.m. ET/11:31 a.m. PT) — $150K Allowance at 6 furlongs for 4YOs & up
    Mr. Ed likes #6 LAKE RADIO (5-1 morning line) for local conditioner Matt Shirer, whose stable is winning at a 24% clip at the meet. The hard-charging colt needs another step forward off two second-place finishes over the oval. Peruvian jockey Martin Chuan rides.
    Wager: $10 to Win and play over and under 2,3,8 in $5 Exactas. ($40)

    Race 8 (4:35 p.m. ET/1:35 p.m. PT) — $150K CAROUSEL STAKES at 6 furlongs for fillies and mares 4YOs & up
    I like an ice-cold $10 Exacta box of #7 MUCHO MACHO GIRL (8-5 morning line) and #8 ZEITLOS (7-5). Look for gals to battle it out from gate to wire. ($20)

    Races 8-11 (4:35 p.m. ET/1:35 p.m. PT) — $1 late pick 4
    R8: 7,8
    R9: 2,4,6
    R10: 3,4,8
    R11: 7 ($18)

    Race 9 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT) — $400K G2 HONEYBEE STAKES at 1 1/16th for 3YO fillies
    Mr. Ed likes a trio: #2 BAND OF GOLD (2-1 morning line); #4 NEOM BEACH (8-1), and #6 WEST OMAHA (7-5). Wager: $5 Exacta Box. ($30)

    Race 10 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT) — $600K G3 RAZORBACK HANDICAP at 1 1/16th for 4YOs & up
    What’s not to like about #8 MAGIC TAP? Proven sire (Tapit) + top trainer (Asmussen) + excellent jockey (Gaffalione) = formula for success. Wager: $10 to Win & Place and $5 Exacta box of 4,8,12. ($50)

    RACE 11 (5:23 p.m. ET/2:23 p.m. PT) — $1.25 million G2 REBEL STAKES at 1 1/16th-mile for 3 YOs
    #7 TIMBERLAKE (6-5 morning line) is the overwhelming favorite, deservingly so. He towers over others based on his speed figures, past performances, recent works, and residence in the powerful Brad Cox barn. Christian Torres rides. Best way to cash tickets is to bet him top and bottom in $5 Exactas with 6,9,11. Live longshot: #13. ($30)

    TOTAL WAGERS: $188

    BONUS BET: Gulfstream Park Sprint Stakes, Race 11 (5:07 p.m. ET/2:07 p.m. PT): #1 RUN CLASSIC (7-2 morning line)

    Must Read

    white sox

    Should You Bet Against the Chicago White Sox in Every Game?

    0
    Betting against the White Sox this season Update: The White Sox were shut out by the Twins 7-0 Monday to drop to 3-19. The record for...