Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for horse races on Saturday, May 27

157
 

 

 

Horse racing Best Bets on Saturday

We won’t have a Triple Crown winner this year, but Team Tuley is still looking for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.
Last Saturday in the Preakness, our very own Ed Sehon has the winner, National Treasure, as he upset Mage and the rest of the short field (which is why Mr. Ed wanted us to keep this weekly column going despite yours truly being on vacation in Hawaii).
This Saturday, we have plays at Belmont Park in New York, Monmouth Park in New Jersey and Gulfstream Park in Florida as we’re also joined by regular contributor Duane Colucci, race and sportsbook manager at the Rampart.
Good luck today (and every day!).

Belmont Park Race No. 4 (2:32 p.m. ET/11:32 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Smooth Flyin Mike (7-2 morning line). “Veteran mid-Atlantic trainer Jane Cibelli ships promising gelding in following two sharp efforts at Tampa (Win) and Parx (Place). Top rider Jose Ortiz accepts mount. Pair of bullet works over Delaware oval indicate sprinter ready to stretch out to one-turn mile. Mighty Mike. Wager: Win.”

Belmont Race No. 6 (3:34 p.m. ET/12:34 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon thinks this race is as easy as 1-2-3. #1 Colonel Bowman & #1a Saffa’s Day (5-2 morning line); #2 Happy Farm (9-2); and #3 Vittorio (8-5). Wager: Exacta and Trifecta boxes of 1,2 and 3.” (Update: #2 Saffa’s Day was scratched.)

Belmont Race 7 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Lady Beth (7-2 morning line). “This filly broke her maiden in fine fashion with steady workouts after a three-month break. Trainer Chad Brown and jockey Flavien Prat hit at 28% when teaming up. She should be close to the lea breaking from the rail. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 1,3,6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Belmont Races Nos. 7-10 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)
Race 7: 1,2,4,6 (2 scratched)
Race 8: 1,6,8
Race 9: 1,4,6
Race 10: 5,9,10

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $54)
Race 7: ALL (1,3,4,5)
Race 8: 1,6,8
Race 9: 1,3,4
Race 10: 9,10,12

Monmouth Race No. 9 (4:22 p.m. ET/1:22 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Highestdistinction (15-1 morning line). “This 6-year-old gelding has bounced around at a bunch of tracks and usually runs from farther back, though he did set the pace in his last race at Keeneland. He’s the best closer in the field, so if he can mix that in with the early speed he showed last time out, he could pop at a price here. Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Race No. 8 (4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Alcools (10-1 morning line). “This 6-year-old gelding returns to the claiming ranks and might have the speed to steal this at a decent price. He’s 0-for-4 at this mile distance, which is a bit of a concern, but he is 4-for-7 over this Belmont track and the price is right. Wager: Win and Place.”

Monmouth Race No. 10 (4:50 p.m. ET/1:50 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Joy’s Pride (8-1 morning line). “This $75,000 allowance race looks pretty wide-open. There’s not much speed, but it looks like #5 Midnight Heiress is a dropping speed horse that could set a quicker ace and set it up for a closer like Joy’s Pride, who closed well in her two most recent races last fall. Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Race 9 (5:12 p.m. ET/2:12 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Afjan (10-1 morning line). “John Toscano runner has some good back turf races as well as his last race where he was in position but didn’t fire. Switch to jockey Dylan Davis, who knows this course, helps as he and Toscanoo combine for 29% win percentage. Should be coming late. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,4,6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:31 p.m. ET/2:31 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #9 Chess Master (4-1 morning line). “I expect gelded son of Overdriven to make amends for last two lackluster efforts following bullet (1/47) work. Rider Edgar Perez gets leg up for Michael Maker outfit. Sprinter has beaten this crew before. If he breaks, it’s checkmate. Wager: Win.”

Belmont Race 10 (5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Photon (6-1 morning line). “Gal might be nothing but a sentimental sucker bet, but I just can’t pass up daughter of colt (Bayern) that anchored my all-time biggest score (2014 Breeders Cup Classic Pick 4). Ninth time proves to be a charm as Flavien Prat climbs aboard for Kelly Breen in maiden-breaking score. Wager: Win.”

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and in honor of triple crown season - here's a deal for your first month half off.