Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, March 25

160

Horse racing Best Bets for Saturday

After taking a week off to concentrate on the opening weekend of March Madness, Team Tuley is back to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast as we get deeper into Kentucky Derby prep season on the way to the Run for the Roses on the First Saturday in May.
Two Saturdays ago, my friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his VSiN.com/horse-racing/ columns when he’s doing his solo projects) carried our team as he has gave out three winners – Tap Dance Fever ($9.40) in Tampa Bay’s 5th race, Talk of the Nation ($4.40) in Tampa Bay’s 7th race and Far Bridge ($5.10) in Gulfstream’s 9th race – while also having Exactas that paid $36.20 and $17.80 with those first two winners.
This Saturday, our team returns with plays at Aqueduct in New York, Gulfstream Park in Florida, Turfway Park in Kentucky, Fair Grounds in Louisiana and Santa Anita in California as we live up to our promise of looking for value at tracks from coast to coast. Now the goal is to have more winners!
Good luck today (and every day)!

 

Fair Ground Race No. 2 (1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Castlewarden (5-2 morning line). “It’s never too late to launch chase for Triple Crown, especially for this well-bred son of super sire Into Mischief. Making his first start for deep Cox barn, series of speedy works point to debut win. Top regional jock Geroux rides. If he breaks, colt may never look back — might be special. Wager: Win.”

Turfway Park Race No. 3 (1:43 p.m. ET/10:43 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Angkor (7-2 morning line). “Respected conditioner Phil Bauer stretches veteran sprinter out to mile following excellent sprint effort in synthetic debut from outermost post. Move to rail, additional distance and return of rider Declan Cannon point to successful result. Join me in betting this guy. Wager: Win.”

Aqueduct Race Nos. 7-11 (4:26 p.m. ET/1:26 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $32)
Race 7: 1,4,5,7
Race 8: 2,3,4,9
Race 9: 5,6
Race 10: 1,10

Fair Grounds Race Nos. 8-12 (4:32 p.m. ET/1:32 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $72)
Race 8: 1,9
Race 9: 2,8
Race 10: 1,5,6
Race 11: 3,4,5
Race 12: 2,6,7,9

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $48)
Race 8: 1,3,9
Race 9: 2,3
Race 10: 1,5,6,7
Race 11: 3,4
Race 12: 2,9

Turfway Park Race Nos. 9-12 (4:43 p.m. ET/1:43 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $90)
Race 9: 4,5,11
Race 10: 5,9,10,12
Race 11: 1,2,5,8,11
Race  12: 1,10,11

Aqueduct Race No. 8 (5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #2 Bezos (10-1 morning line). “Speedster drops to comfortable level after running in high-level allowance and stakes races. A repeat of the Dec. 17 effort wins this. Nice workout on the 17th ensures fitness. Bet 2 to Win and key 2 over 3,4,9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:06 p.m. ET/2:06 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Miss Vyvyanne (20-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old filly threw in a clunker in first race after her maiden win but now switches to turf (trainer is 21% with first-time turf starters) and could be the speed of the speed to steal this if she returns to her Woodbine form (and that last race should ensure our big price). Wager: Win and Place.”

Fair Grounds Race No. 10 (5:36 p.m. ET/2:36 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Spooky Channel (9-2 morning line) in the Grade 2 Muniz Memorial Classic Stakes. “This gelding crushed over this course in December and caught a wet turf in Texas going 1.5 miles. Joel Rosario takes over and should have him in striking distance. Nice workout on the 16th. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 1,6,7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Turfway Park Race No. 12 (6:25 p.m. ET/3:25 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three to continue down the Derby Trail in the Grade 3, $70,000 Jeff Ruby Stakes: “#10 Two Phils (7-2 morning line) looks like a winner for trainer Larry Rivelli. Pletcher barn sends out #1 Major Dude (5-2) who will be tough in surface switch. And, #11 Wadworth (8-1) teams with sharp jock Chris Landeros in longshot play. Wager: Bet 10 to Win and box him in Exactas with 1 and 11.”

Fair Grounds Race No. 12 (6:42 p.m. ET/3:42 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Instant Coffee (2-1 morning line) in the Grade 2, $1 million Louisiana Derby: “Promising Cox-trained colt became major player on Derby Trail following Lecomte Stakes victory in January. I’m looking for him to avenge earlier loss to futures fave Forte on the first Saturday in May. Luis Saez stays aboard. He should cream this crew — with or without sugar. Wager: Win and use in Exactas with 6 and 9.”

Duane Colucci likes #9 Tapit’s Quest (10-1 morning line). “Rough trip in the Riden Star was a learning experience. Steady workouts and switches back to jockey Manny Franco with trainers Brad Cox,  who have an ROI of $2.86 in graded stakes together. Bet 9 to Win and 9 over 2,4,6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley’s also likes #9 Tapit’s Quest (10-1). “You can certainly expect quick turnarounds from these young 3-year-olds and Tapit’s Quest fits the mold at a fair price vs. these other Derby hopefuls. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Races Nos. 5-9 (6:02 p.m. ET/3:02 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)
Race 5: 1,3,4,7
Race 6: 2,3,6
Race 7: 2,5
Race 8: 1,4
Race 9: 2,3

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and in honor of triple crown season - here's a deal for your first month half off.