Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for Saturday races (in addition to Preakness)

29

Horse racing Best Bets on Saturday (non-Preakness)

Team Tuley’s Preakness picks have been posted at VSiN.com/horse-racing/ since Thursday, so please check out that file.
Our weekly horse racing column here is for the rest of our plays on Saturday’s cards, including the undercard at Pimlico but also other tracks from coast to coast like we do every Saturday. I’m joined by regular contributor Ed Sehon as we have plays at Belmont in New York, Gulfstream in Florida and Santa Anita in California while Rampart race and sportsbook manager Duane Colucci tackles the late Pick 5 at Pimlico, capped off with the Preakness.
In addition, Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) has his Saturday full-card breakdown of the Preakness card on our VSiN page.

 

Belmont Race No. 4 (2:02 p.m. ET/11:02 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Sicilian Grandma (9-2 morning line). “My main NY man Manny Franco returns to pilot sophomore filly for Michael Maker. Gal is rested and ready to score following brief break. Filly, dropping in for $40,000 will be charging down the lane as she stretches out to seven furlongs. Mama Mia! Wager: Win.”

Belmont Race No. 6 (3:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three: #6 Blame It On Paris (8-1 morning line); #7 Quick Power Nap (3-1); and #11 I’m Nervous Now (7-2). “Talented trio stands above others in cheap turf sprint. Wager: Box 6,7,11 in Exactas and Trifectas.”

Pimlico Races Nos. 9-13 (3:31 p.m. ET/12:31 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $54)
Race 9: 1,6,9
Race 10: 1,3,13
Race 11: 7,8
Race 12: 1,9
Race 13: 1,3,5

Belmont Race No. 7 (3:41 p.m. ET/12:41 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Seize the City (5-1 morning line). “Put ambitious young Katie Davis aboard horse with half a chance – and she always gives it her all. Colt stretches out to seven furlongs following late-kick effort in sprint debut for Michelle Giangiulo barn. Jockey + trainer = girl power! Wager: Win.”

Belmont Races Nos. 8-11 (4:28 p.m. ET/1:28 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $24; note: $72 if bet before scratches in which case you get post-time favorite)
Race 8: 2,5 (1 scratched)
Race 9: 4,5,6,7
Race 10: 8,12 (1 scratched)
Race 11: 1,3,4,7

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:31 p.m. ET/2:31 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Picking Up Pennies (6-1 morning line) in the ungraded $65,000 Big Drama Stakes. “This 5-year-old gelding could be the speed of the speed to steal this seven-furlong test. He’s used to running off a layoff for trainer Saffie Joseph Jr., who also hits at 21% when using jockey Leonel Reyes the past two months. Wager: Win and Place.”

Pimlico Race No. 12 (5:51 p.m. ET/2:51 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Top Recruit (15-1 morning line) in the ungraded $100,000 James W. Murphy Stakes. “I’m going with jockey Joel Rosario on Red Route One in the Preakness, but I’m also riding him in the race right before the feature with #4 Top Recruit. This colt is making his 3-year-old debut after a 5-month layoff and has the right to improve. He looks like the speed of the speed to steal it. 5-year-old gelding could be the speed of the speed to steal this. He’s trying turf for the first time, but that’s why we’re also getting a fair price. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #9 One Silk Stocking (15-1 morning line) in the ungraded $100,000 Mizdirection Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly should be able to sit off the pace down the downhill turf course and make a late run at the leaders. We get unheralded jockey Antonio Fresu, but he’s hitting 29 percent with deep closers and 20% overall. One Silk Stocking is stepping up in class but ran in a Grade 3 in February and had a fourth-place finish that was better than it looks as she only lost by 1 1/4 lengths. Wager: Win and Place.”