COUNTING DOWN TO THE SPA: The Triple Crown season is over. Long live the three champions (Mystic Dan, Seize the Grey and Dornoch) as they and other top 3YOs take a break before returning to action. The annual opening of Mr. Ed’s favorite track, Saratoga Race Course, is less than four weeks (Thursday, July 11) away. Between now and then, I plan to find the track with the best Saturday racing card and post my commentary and picks here on VSiN.com. Today’s focus is on the 10 twilight races for some Churchill Downs best bets. First race post time is 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Mr. Ed’s Churchill Downs Best Bets for Saturday, June 15

Race 5 (7:57 p.m. ET/4:57 p.m. PT) — $175K MONOMOY GIRL STAKES, 1 1/16-mile for fillies & mares 3YO & up
Mr. Ed likes three for the money: #2 OUR PRETTY WOMAN (7-5 morning line) for the Asmussen barn with Luis Saez riding; #4 BAND OF GOLD (9-2) for the McPeek-Hernandez duo, and #6 INTRICATE (8-5) for trainer Walsh and jockey Gaffalione.
Churchill Downs Best Bet: $5 Exacta box of 2,4,6. ($30)

 

Race 6 (8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT) — MAIDEN SPECIAL WEIGHT, 1 ⅛-mile for fillies & mares, 3YO & up
Mr. Ed is willing to take a shot on #6 FLAWLESS QUALITY (12-1 morning line) for conditioner Dallas Stewart, who specializes on training routers. Gal’s sloppy track first start, followed by sharp works show promise. Brian Hernandez gets aboard for first time. A quality selection.
MR. ED’S BEST LONGSHOT OF THE DAY: $10 to Win & Place. ($20)

Race 7 (9:05 p.m. ET/6:05 p.m. PT) — $175K CHORLEYWOOD STAKES, 1 ⅜-mile for 4YOs & up on turf
Mr. Ed’s pick is #6 BOLD ACT (3-1 morning line). This British invader appears to be sitting on winning effort for Charley Appleby. He was in the mix previous two races. Rider switch to Tyler Gaffalione is bold act.
Churchill Downs Best Bet: $20 Win. ($20)

Races 7-10 (9:05 p.m. ET/6:05 p.m. PT)
R7: 2,3,4,6
R8: 3,5,6,7
R9: 1,7,8
R10: 5,6,7 ($72)
Churchill Downs Best Bet: $.50 Pick 4 ($72)

Race 9 (10:11 p.m. ET/7:11 p.m. PT) — $72K STARTER ALLOWANCE at 1 1/16-mile for fillies & mares, 4YO & up
Mr. Ed likes three: #1 GENEROUS LOVER (2-1 morning line); #7 LOW COUNTRY MAGIC (3-1) and #8 ELLIPTIC (7-2) in the first half of the Daily Double to close out the card.
Churchill Downs Best Bet: $5 DAILY DOUBLE: 1,7,8 with 5,6,7. ($45)

Race 10 (10:42 p.m. ET/7:42 p.m. PT) — $120K MAIDEN SPECIAL WEIGHTS, 1 1/16-mile for fillies & mares 4YOs & up
I like three to close out Daily Double: #5 MOONLIGHT GAMBLER (5-1 morning line); #6 JUST THE SKY (7-2), and #7 APPELLATE (3-1) to complete Daily Double.
TOTAL CHURCHILL WAGERS: $187

MR. ED’S SPOT PLAYS:
MONMOUTH PARK, Race 9: #8 OCEAN CLUB (6-1)
BELMONT AT AQUEDUCT, Race 10: #6 FLYING CONNECTION (3-1)

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.