Jeff Siegel’s Horse Racing Picks for 12/10

83

Xpressbet writer Jeff Siegel offers his top plays for Saturday with one at Gulfstream Park and one at Fair Grounds.

Gulfstream Park Race No. 8 (3:38 p.m. ET/12:38 p.m. PT)
#7 Malleymoo (8-1)

 

Was a smart debut winner over the left-handed all-weather Dundalk surface in Ireland in early October and arrives for new connections fit and ready to step forward in this listed turf stakes for juvenile fillies. Certainly bred for turf, the daughter of English Channel has registered two nice grass workouts at nearby Palm Meadows since arriving in South Florida and based on the closing kick she displayed in victory the Jack Sisterson-trained 2-year-old should enjoy today’s extra distance and the two-turn trip. At 8-1 on the morning line, she offers an excellent gamble in the Win pool and in the various rolling exotics.

Fair Grounds Race No. 8 (5:59 p.m. ET/2:59 p.m. PT)
#3 Touchuponastar (6-1)

As this is penned, it has yet to be determined whether this speedster will remain in the Louisiana Day Classic or opt for the ninth race on the program (he’s entered in both) but we’ll operate under the assumption that the choice will be this more lucrative event due to a highly favorable projected pace flow. The son of Star Guitar, a winner of his last two starts by a combined 16 lengths, clearly will be the controlling speed, and while he’s unproven at this nine-furlong distance he should have every chance to establish the running without any pressure and then roll all the way to the wire. Listed at 6-1 on the morning line, the Jeff Delhomme-trained gelding offers enticing wagering value at anywhere near that price.

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and in honor of triple crown season - here's a deal for your first month half off.