HomeHorse RacingMr. Ed's Best Bets for Fair Grounds on Saturday, February 17

    Mr. Ed’s Best Bets for Fair Grounds on Saturday, February 17

    Veteran handicapper Ed Sehon shares his best bets at Fair Grounds for Saturday, February 17.

    -

    Mr. Ed’s Fair Grounds Best Bets

    FAIR GROUNDS BEST BETS: Mr. Ed’s next stop on the Kentucky Derby trail is New Orleans, home of the historic Fair Grounds racecourse. After cashing a juicy $80 win ticket last week at Tampa Bay, as well as selecting the underdog KC Chiefs (+2.5) to capture the Super Bowl, his confidence level and bankroll are both headed in the right direction.

    JOCKEY WATCH: Last week at Tampa Bay I mentioned that top riders on the road often represent positive wagering opportunities — and the trio of Tyler Gaffalione, Jose Ortiz and Paco Lopez went on to win six of the 11 races. This week’s cast of talented visiting jockeys — Gaffalione, Flavien Prat and Johnny Velazquez — are shipping into New Orleans. Each of the three has several mounts on Saturday’s 14-race card and merit strong consideration at the windows.

     

    LOUISIANA DERBY PREVIEW DAY: Unfortunately, rain threatens to put a damper on today’s outstanding card, concluding with Race 14, the Risen Star Stakes for Triple Crown-nominated 3YOs. Five other stakes are on tap as dozens of top horses prep for the Louisiana Derby Day festivities on March 23. Here are Mr. Ed’s selections (before late scratches & changes) for Saturday at the Fair Grounds:

    RACE 8 (4:23 p.m. ET/1:23 p.m. PT) — $100K COLONEL POWER STAKES, at 5 ½-furlongs on turf for 4YOs & up
    Mr. Ed likes #9 MISCHIEVOUS ROGUE (4-1 morning line) as he returns to the turf for trainer Bill Cowans. Winner of six of 18 lifetime, the six-year-old son of super sire Into Mischief is ready to score in his 2024 debut. Top track jockey Brian Hernandez returns to ride this Rogue.
    MR. ED’S FAIR GROUNDS BEST BET: $10 to Win & Place. (total wager $20)

    RACE 10 (5:21 p.m. ET/2:21 p.m. PT) — $100K ALBERT M. STALL MEMORIAL STAKES at 1 1/16-mile on turf for fillies & mares 4YO & up
    I like #5 SPIRIT AND GLORY (3-1 morning line), who attracts the services of superior rider Flavien Prat. This gal has been tested and done well against graded stakes company from coast to coast. She’s rested and ready to fire for trainer Robert Falcone. Mine eyes have seen Glory!
    MR. ED’S FAIR GROUNDS BEST BET: $20 to Win & box in $5 Exactas with 7,8. ($40)

    RACE 11 (5:50 p.m. ET/2:50 p.m. PT) — $250K G3 MINESHAFT STAKES at 1 1/16-mile on dirt for 4YOs & up
    Mr. Ed is betting Brad Cox trainee BEST ACTOR (3-1 morning line) prevails in a highly competitive undercard feature. Winner of his last two at a mile, the graded-stakes-tested, 5YO son of Flatter should handle the added distance following a brief break. Jockey Flavien Prat seeks the hat trick aboard a proven front-runner. And the Oscar goes to…
    MR. ED’S FAIR GROUNDS BEST BET: $10 to Win & Place & $5 Exacta boxes of 1,3,9. ($50)

    RACE 13 (6:48 p.m. ET/3:48 p.m. PT) — $500K G2 RACHEL ALEXANDRA STAKES at 1 1/16-mile on dirt for 3YO fillies and mares
    Mr. Ed likes #4 INTRICATE (3-1 morning line) to chalk up third in a row for trainer Brendan Walsh and rider Tyler Gaffalione. Last seen winning the G2 Golden Rod Stakes last November at Churchill Downs, the daughter of Gun Runner sharp off recent works.
    MR. ED’S FAIR GROUNDS BEST BET: $20 to Win. ($20)

    RACE 14 (7:17 p.m. ET/4:17 p.m. PT) — $400K G2 RISEN STAR STAKES at 1 ⅛-mile on dirt for 3YOs
    #11 TRACK PHANTOM (7-2 morning line), winner of his last three, is Mr. Ed’s choice in the loaded finale. Trained by winningest all-time trainer Steve Asmussen, the son of Quality Road is fast enough to wire an excellent 12-horse field under talented Joel Rosario. What’s not to like?MR. ED’s PLAY OF DAY: $20 to Win, over and under in $5 Exactas with 3,4,8. ($50)

    TOTAL WAGERS: $180

    BONUS BET: Gulfstream Park Race 10:#9 INSTANT COFFEE (5-2).

    ELSEWHERE ON THE DERBY TRAIL: Stronghold at 5-2 is the morning line favorite as eight 3YOs square off in the Sunland Park Derby, in Texas. Post time: 7:17 p.m. ET/4:17 p.m. PT.

    Must Read

    MLB Bullpen Systems: Streaking Teams Heat Up

    0
    Updated MLB Bullpen Betting Systems This past week was a sound one for the MLB Bullpen Systems I’ve been tracking for VSiN readers in recent...