Mr. Ed’s Best Bets for Saturday, October 7; news & notes

300
 

Mr. Ed’s Best Bets, Saturday, October 7

WHAT’S SO SPECIAL ABOUT KEENELAND? It’s so easy bein’ green. From endless acres of lush horse farms to immaculately maintained grandstands and grounds, seemingly everything is green in the bluegrass country of central Kentucky. It’s a shame that the track, like Saratoga, is open only a few dozen days each year. But perhaps that is what helps make Keeneland so very special.

 

I discovered this racing jewel more than 20 years ago — and have been welcomed back at least once a year ever since. The most important ingredients separating Keeneland from all other American racing venues are the quality of its thoroughbred competitors and the competency and hospitality of its entire staff — from racing secretary to groom. If ever you have a chance to visit Keeneland — GO! You might take home some green.

FRIDAY’S WINNERS: While veteran Hall of Fame jockey Johnny Velasquez had a hat trick, Luis Saez booted home the late Daily Double. No trainer could muster up a double. The average $2 Win bet payoff for the 10-race card was $10.60.

BC FEVER: In anticipation of the upcoming 14 Breeders’ Cup races (November 3 and 4 at Santa Anita), BAQ (Belmont at Aqueduct) is hosting six graded stakes today and four more tomorrow. Santa Anita and Gulfstream also host several BC prep races over the weekend.

YESTERDAY’S SNOOZE: Unfortunately, my selections also were green. No handicapper, public or otherwise, likes to be shut out at the windows as I was on Opening Day. No excuses, folks. Cancel my table at Jeff Ruby’s as Mr. Ed heads to the White Castle drive-thru for a bag of sliders … It’s on to today’s excellent 11-race card where Mr. Ed is as confident as ever in his ability to share winners with VSiN.com followers. First race post is 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT.  Here are Mr. Ed’s selections:

Races 1 and 2

Mr. Ed likes the following $3 Daily Double:

R1: 4,5,6

R2: 1,5 ($18)

Race 4 (2:36 p.m. ET/11:36 a.m. PT)

I like #5 SAFFRON MOON (5-2 morning line). Skillful Flavien Prat returns to the saddle for Chad Brown’s barn following an excellent turf sprint try at Saratoga. Recent works indicate the four-year-old filly sired Malibu Moon should sit a stalking trip before prevailing in the main track stretch. Moon swoon. Wager: $10 to Win & Place. ($20)

Race 6 (3:40 p.m. ET/12:40 p.m. PT) — G2 $350K Woodford Stakes

Mr. Ed likes #11 BEER CAN MAN (4-1 morning line). Phil D’Amato ships the veteran gelding east for a loaded turf sprint. Flavien Prat picks up the mount on the seven-time winner. This man can. Wager: $10 to Win & Place. ($20)

Race 7 (4:12 p.m. ET/1:12 p.m. PT) — G2 Thoroughbred Club of America

Mr. Ed’s LONGSHOT OF DAY is #5 HAPPY SOUL (8-1 morning line). Trainer Wesley Ward shifts this successful turf sprinter back to the main oval, seeking to avenge a loss in last year’s TCA stakes. John Velazquez retains his ride. Wager: $5 to Win, Place & Show. ($15)

Race 8 (4:43 p.m. ET/1:43 p.m. PT) — G1 $750K First Lady Stakes

#3 IN ITALIAN (4/5 morning line) is MR. Ed’s BEST BET. Today’s the day this superstar earns her spot in the Breeders’ Cup. The filly has banked more than $2 million in earnings for owner Peter Brant and trainer Chad Brown. Joel Rosario picks up the mount as regular rider Irad Ortiz Jr. opts to stay home at BAQ. None of the gal’s competitors can catch her. O Sole Mio! $40 to Win. ($40)

Race 9 (5:14 p.m. ET/2:14 p.m. PT) — G1 $600K Breeders’ Futurity

Mr. Ed likes #2 TIMBERLAKE (7-2 morning line). Top trainer Brad Cox retains the riding services of cool and calm Florent Geroux as this sophomore colt takes his blinkers off while trying two turns for the first time. He can run with any of these, but in addition to a win ticket, I’ll box him in Exactas with three others. Wager: $20 to Win, $5 Exacta boxes of 2/1,3,9. ($50)

Race 10 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT) — G1 $1 Million Turf Mile

In what might be the most competitive race on a deep card, Mr. Ed picks # 5 UP TO THE MARK (5-2 morning line), the four-year-old son of Not This Time, to defeat the speedy field on the turn back. Trainer Todd Pletcher gave him the summer off to prepare for this million-dollar mile. Jose Ortiz is back in the saddle. Marked man. Wager: $20 to Win. ($20)

TOTAL WAGERS: $183

WHAT WILL MR. ED (1-2 ATS) DO ON SUNDAY?

Bet the 49ers (-3.5) to cover vs. the Cowboys.

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.