Mr. Ed’s Saratoga Best Bets for Friday, September 1; news & notes

989

Saratoga Best Bets, news and notes

FOUR-DAY WEEKEND AT THE SPA: Saratoga Race Course concludes its 40-day 2023 season on a high note, featuring three G1 stakes (Jockey Club Gold Cup, Spinaway and the Hopeful) capped off by its annual Fan Appreciation Week activities. In an attempt to turn a profit for the meet, Mr. Ed will be posting his top selections here at VSiN.com all four days. When last we spotted the fearless prognosticator, he was buying shots of Buffalo Trace last Saturday at the renowned Horseshoe Bar celebrating his most successful day at the windows thus far. He looks forward to concluding the meet with cold hard cash in his saddle bags.

 

TRACKING MR. ED: Cashing four winning tickets, including a pair on Arcangelo in the Travers, and totaling $292.15 on $129.00 in wagers (after scratches) = a net win of $163.15 for the day. For his 16 days of posting, Mr. Ed remains down $448.85 on plays totaling $1406.00. I see several opportunities over the long weekend to turn that loss into a winning meet. Stay tuned loyal followers—my best bets have yet to come.

SPA STATS: With four days remaining, Irad Ortiz Jr. stands alone atop the jockey standings with 52 wins, followed by brother Jose with 33 and Tyler Gaffalione at 32. The race for the top trainer is tight as a photo finish with Chad Brown ahead of Linda Rice 30-29, followed by Todd Pletcher with 23.

Here are Mr. Ed’s exclusive VSiN.com selections for Friday:

Races 1-2 (1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes a Daily Double consisting of #2 IRISH GENT (7-2 morning line) and #5 HARD PAR (3-1) in Race 1 and #4 MUNNY GRAB (5-1) and #8 MY MANE SQUEEZE (7-2) in Race 2. Wager: $5 Daily Doubles ($20)

Race No. 4 (2:52 p.m. ET/11:52 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes an ice-cold Exacta Box of #2 CARL SPACKLER (2-1 morning line) and #5 ACTIVIST INVESTING (7-2). Wager: $10. ($20)

Race No. 6 (4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT)

I like sophomore filly #8 UNICORN CAKE (6-1 morning line) trained by Jeremiah Englehart. This upstate trainer can spot first-time starters as well as anyone. Look for gate-breaking specialist Kendrick Carmouche to put the daughter of Cloud Computing in the mix early. A piece of cake. Wager: $10 Win and Place. ($20)

Race No. 7 (4:34 p.m. ET/1:34 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes a foursome: Coupled entry of #1 QUARREL and #1A RHOMBIQUE (6-1 morning line), #8 EXPAND THE MAP (2-1), and #10 COPPA GIRL (2-1). Wager: $5 Exacta Box of 1, 8, 10. ($30)

Race No. 8 (5:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. PT)

I like #5 GUN MAESTRO (6-1 morning line). One overdue trainer Fernando Abreu signs on Irad Oritz Jr. for the seven-furlong sprint. The gelding drops following a sharp effort in the last two over sloppy going. Wager: $10 to Win. ($10)

Race No. 10 (6:18 p.m. ET/3:18 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes a trio: #5 BROOKLYN DIAMONDS (9-2 morning line) for Linda Rice, #9 DEPUTY CONNECT (7-2) for Brad Cox, and #10 JUSTICE DEPARTMENT (3-1) for Chad Brown. Wager: $5 Exacta Box. ($30)

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.