Mr. Ed’s Saratoga Best Bets for Saturday, August 19; news & notes

597

Saratoga Best Bets, news and notes

SPA NEWS & NOTES: Cap’s off to long-time handicapper and host of Today at the Races Andy Serling for picking winners in eight of 10 races on Thursday. His other two choices ran second … Top trainer Chad Brown has 12 horses entered in seven of 12 races today … Big crowd yesterday despite OFF the turf resulting in 39 scratches and a rather dull day of racing, but to quote my mentor, “A bad day at the track, beats a good day anywhere else.” … Chad Brown, with a win Friday, leads trainers with 25 wins, while Irad Ortiz Jr., who was shut out, still remains atop the rider face with 38 trips to the Winner’s Circle.

 

TRAINERS TO WATCH: Rick Dutrow (busy barn), Danny Gargan (sleeper), Al Stall Jr. (underestimated), Steve Asmussen (all-time leader), Rudy Rodriguez (on a roll) and George Weaver (on top of his game)

JOCKEYS TO RIDE: Tyler Gaffalione (hitting his stride), Katie Davis (a real comer), Manny Franco (dependable), Jaime Torres (star apprentice) and Flavien Prat (among the best).

TRACKING MR. ED: I made progress toward my goal of profitability by hitting the  Daily Double for $30 and cashing a win ticket for $37.50. With only $98 in action (after scratches) my loss was a respectable $30.50 … For the meet., Mr. Ed has cashed tickets for $665 on plays of 1,279.00 for a net loss of $614.

TODAY AT THE SPA: Race 9 (3:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT), the G1 $600K Alabama Stakes for three-year-old fillies at a mile-and-a-quarter highlights the 11-race card. First race post is 1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 p.m. PT. Here are my selections:

Races 1 & 2 (1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 a.m. PT)

SPECIAL DAILY DOUBLE

Race 1: #1 RISK IT (4-1 morning line) & #7 SPECIAL ELEMENT (7-2)

Race 2: #5 DANCING GROOM (6-1), # 7 WALLEY WORLD (7-2) & #13 FORTUNE SELLER (7-2). Wager: $4 Daily Double ($24)

Race No. 4 (2:46 p.m. ET/11:46 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #10 NO MORE TALK (4-1 morning line). A veteran of 87 races, the nine-year-old gelding cuts back a furlong for trainer Wayne Potts, who’s 24% off the claim. Previous best speed figure 83 beats soft field. Top rider Irad Ortiz retains the mount. Nothing more to say. Wager: $10 Win & Place. ($20)

Race No. 5 (3:18 p.m. ET/12:18 p.m. PT)

I like four: #1 LAFITTE’S FLEET & 1A DAUFUSKIE ISLAND (7-5 morning line); #3 ABADIN (3-1), and #8 DURANTE (3-1). Wager: $5 Exacta box ($30)

Race No. 6 (3:52 p.m. ET/12:52 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed is betting on #3 BERNING HONOR (7-2 morning line) to win the maiden claimer for Dominick Schettino’s barn. Flavien Prat climbs aboard for the turf route. Wager: $5 Win & Place. ($10)

Race No. 7 (4:26 p.m. ET/1:26 p.m. PT)

I like #2 ASPRAY (7-2 morning line). Chad Brown and Flavien Prat team up in G2 $200K Lake Placid Stakes at a mile and 1/16th. Strong works and turn back can only help the three-year-old daughter of super sire Quality Road. Hoping the race stays on grass. Wager: $5 to Win & Place. ($10)

Race No. 8 (5:02 p.m. ET/2:02 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed’s PRICE PICK OF THE DAY is #5 ROYAL TAKE CHARGE (10-1 morning line) for trainer Al Stall Jr. I’m willing to forgive a weak effort in the previous race at Delaware Park. The other four lifetime starts indicate the filly has what it takes to beat this crew. Optional Claimer at a mile on dirt. Young Reylu Gutierrez retains the mount. Wager: $5 Win, Place & Show. ($15)

Race No. 9 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed’s PLAY OF THE DAY is a $5 three-way Exacta box of #2 WET PAINT (2-1 morning line), #3 JULIA SHINING (5-1) and #8 RANDOMIZED (9-2) in the G1 $600K Alabama Stakes for three–year–old fillies at a mile and a quarter. ($30)

Race No. 10 (6:19 p.m. ET/3:19 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed shoots for the moon with #1 DUKE OF HAZZARD (8-1 morning line) in the finale. Comeback trainer Dick Dutrow stretches the seven-year-old gelding out to a mile on the turf.  Pitch last race. Guy’s won nearly $6K. The innermost post won’t hurt. Gate master Kendrick Carmouche rides for the first time. Wager: $10 Win & Place. ($20)

T0TAL WAGERS: $159

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off. 
Previous articleCollege Football Stability Scores for 2023
Next articleVSiN Analytics MLB Report for Saturday, August 19
VSiN Staff
We are the VSiN Staff, a team of seasoned sports media professionals from VSiN. Our expertise ranges from award-winning broadcasting to legendary oddsmaking, all dedicated to providing top-notch news, analysis, and data in the world of sports betting. Broadcasting from the heart of Las Vegas and major gaming venues nationwide, we offer engaging content across various platforms, including YouTubeTV, Rogers’ Sportsnet, and our own VSiN.com. Join us for the latest in sports wagering, where we blend entertainment with insightful betting information.