Mr. Ed’s Pimlico Best Bets

PREAKNESS PREVIEW: Saturday’s second jewel in the Triple Crown lost one of its stars early Wednesday when Bob Baffert-trained and morning line favorite Muth spiked a fever and was declared out of the 1 3/16-mile race. A real game changer. Inclement weather forecast for Saturday will leave many handicappers, including Mr. Ed, scratching their heads while making wagering selections. With several turf contests scheduled on the card, several horses may scratch while some of those listed main-track-only will end up running. The Preakness, highlight of Saturday’s stakes-laden 14-race card, will go to post at 7:01 p.m. ET/4:01 p.m. PT. Now, onto my Pimlico best bets for Friday.

TODAY AT PIMLICO: The 100th running of the G1 $300K Black-Eyed-Susan stakes for 3YO fillies highlights the 14-race card. In addition to the feature, five other stakes will be contested … Jockeys to watch include Joel Rosario, Flavien Prat, Luis Saez and Tyler Gaffalione. Also keep an eye on Kentucky Derby winning rider Brian Hernandez and local fan-favs Jaime Rodriguez and Sheldon Russell. Trainers Steve Asmussen, Graham Motion and Brittany Russell (wife of Sheldon) each have several horses scheduled to run. First post is 11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT. The Black-Eyed Susan goes to post at 5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT.

 

Race 4 (1:02 p.m. ET/10:02 a.m. PT — $55K Allowance/Claiming for 3YOs & up at 5 furlongs on turf
Mr. Ed likes speedster #1 SWILL (8-1 morning line) to score upset in very competitive sprint. Hot trainer Jamie Ness hires sharp Jaime Rodriguez to ride for experienced gelding’s turf debut. Shrewd Ness saddles 33% winners off claim.
PIMLICO BEST BETS: $10 to Win & $5 Exacta Box of 3,5,10. ($40)

Race 5 (1:33 p.m. ET/10:33 a.m. PT) — $58K Allowance/Claiming for 3YOs & up at 6 furlongs
My pick is #5 POINT DUME (7-2 morning line) for local connections of trainer Kieron Magee and jockey Jaime Rodriguez. Betting on good track to free gelding up on front end as he cuts back to sprint. He knows how to lead the pack.
PIMLICO BEST BET: $10 Win & Place.  ($20)

Race 7 (2:34 p.m. ET/11:34 a.m. PT) — $58K Allowance/Claiming for fillies and mares 3YOs & up at a mile on turf
Mr. Ed looking for skillful rider Rodriguez to bag hat trick with #6 PAPER MANSION (5-2 morning line). Mare has won 11 of 23, earning nearly quarter-million. Trainer Ness ships gal in from Tampa and shortens her up. House on fire.
PIMLICO BEST BET: $10 Win & Place. ($20)

Race 9 (3:36 p.m. ET/12:36 p.m. PT) — $100K Hilltop Stakes for 3YO fillies and mares at mile on turf
I like #5 JUST BETTER (12-1 morning line) to upset field over soft grass. Trainer Steve Asmussen and superstar rider Frankie Dettori team up again after runaway win in slop at Keeneland. Filly appears capable of stepping up in class. Just bet her.
MR. ED’S BEST LONGSHOT BET: $5 Win, Place & Show. ($15)

Race 11 (4:38 p.m. ET/1:38 p.m. PT) — $100K The Very One Stakes for 3YO fillies & mares at 5 furlongs on turf
Mr. Ed likes favorite #4 KAUFYMAKER (2-1 morning line) to easily score for top turf sprint conditioner Wesley Ward. HOF jockey Johnny Velasquez reunites with speedy mare. Toss last in Keeneland stakes. Ice cold coffee.
MR. ED’S VERY BEST BET OF DAY: $20 to Win. ($20)

Race 13 (5:44 p.m. ET/2:44 p.m. PT) — G2 $300K Black-Eyed Susan Stakes for 3YO fillies at 1 ⅛-mile
Mr. Ed betting #5 GUN SONG (9-2 morning line) to capture feature race for strong Hennig-Velasquez connections. Pricy daughter of Gun Runner ready to step into Winner’s Circle with speed figure in mid-80s. Pitch prep at Gulfstream where filly got bounced around. Gal of a gun.
PIMLICO BEST BETS: $10 Win & Place & $5 Black-Eyed Susan-Preakness two-day double of 5,7,8/5,8,9. ($55)

TOTAL WAGERS: $180

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.