Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for horse races on Saturday, July 8

450

Saturday horse racing Best Bets

We’re in the dog days of summer, but Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast.
Last Saturday, our crew had a lot of live horses but we just couldn’t catch a big winner. Out of my three plays, I had two horses that finished second and paid $13.20 and $4.80 to Place (a decent $3.00 ROI on $2 Win and Place bets), but nothing to write home about). Rampart race and sportsbook manager Duane Colucci had a $6.70 winner and a $43.80 Exacta while John Lauro added a chalky winner with Xigera capturing the Tepin Stakes at Ellis Park and paying just over even money at $4.16.
This Saturday, I’m joined by Colucci and well as Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed, who is getting ready to give his weekend picks for the Saratoga meet starting next Thursday at VSiN.com/horse-racing) as we live up to your promise to find value plays from coast to coast with plays at Belmont in New York, Horseshoe Indianapolis in Indiana and Los Alamitos in California.
Good luck today (and every day!).

 

Belmont Race No. 3 (2:09 p.m. ET/11:09 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #1 Positive Message (8-1 morning line). “Trainer Richard Dutrow takes over this turf runner after three dull efforts. Been on the shelf since November. Her best effort was her first, so she is capable of running fresh. Works are steady. Bet 1 to Win and key 1 over 3,4,7 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Belmont Race No. 6. (3:40 p.m. ET/12:40 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes the three on the outside: #9 Weekend Rags (5-2 morning line), #10 Loon Cry (3-1) and #11 Longlive the Queen (8-1) in Exacta boxes.

Dave Tuley likes #1 Ranting (12-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old filly makes her seasonal debut after being off since August and has the right to show big improvement. She also drops in class, plus trainer Horacio De Paz (with 2 wins this week) adds Lasix (hitting 14% with first-time Lasix) and hits 17% the first time he starts a horse as well as 17% when bringing back after more than three months.  Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Race No. 7 (4:11 p.m. ET/1:11 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Majority Partner (3-1 morning line) for conditioner Linda Rice as she seeks meet’s top-trainer title. Super quick 4-year-old gelding should be in front from the get-go as he cuts back to 6 1/2 furlongs. Jose Lezcano seeks repeat victory. Wager: Win and box in Exactas with 4 and 6.”

Belmont Race No. 8 (3:40 p.m. ET/12:40 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Prerequisite (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 2, $250,000 John A. Nerud Stakes. “This 3-year-old filly isn’t a true speedball, but wired the field in her last start and could do the same against this field of closers. She could inherit the lead and might not ever give it up. I also like that Duane Colucci thinks enough to include her in the first leg of his Pick 5. Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Races Nos. 8-11 (4:43 p.m. ET/1:43 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $54)
Race 8: 1,5,7
Race 9: 2,8,11
Race 10: 5,6,8
Race 11: 1,8
Race 12: 2,12

Belmont Race No. 9 (5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #11 Inflation Nation (7-2 morning line). “Savvy conditioner Christophe Clement enters speedy sprinter in loaded 7-furlong turf test. Sophomore son of Speightstown retains regular rider Dylan Davis. First-time with Lasix adds to appeal. Inflated odds = value proposition. Wager: Win and bet 2,8,11 in Exacta and Trifectas.”

Belmont Race Nos. 9-11 (5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $67.50)
Race 9: 2,8,10
Race 10: 4,5,8,10,11
Race 11: 2,5,8
Race 12: 2,5,10

Belmont Race No. 10 (5:40 p.m. ET/2:49 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Wizard of Westwood (15-1 morning line) in the Grade 1, $750,000 Belmont Derby Invitational Stakes. “This 3-year-old colt is clearly the speed of the speed – bringing his “California speed” across the country – and should grab a clear lead and hopefully conserve enough energy under veteran jockey Johnny Velazquez and wire the field like last time out. This is obviously a step up in class, but the horse doesn’t know that and just wants to run. Wager: Win and Place.”

Horseshoe Indianapolis Race No. 12 (6:03 p.m. ET/3:03 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon’s PLAY OF THE DAY is #5 Verifying (8-5 morning line) in the Grade 3, $300,000 Indiana Derby. “I’m willing to give my Kentucky Derby choice, who finished far up the track at Churchill Downs, another chance after a solid second in the Matt Wynn Stakes. Keen trainer Brad Cox decides to switch riders to Marcelino Pedroza as front-running sophomore cuts back in distance. He should have no problem beating this subpar field. Trust and verify.” Wager: Win.”

Belmont Race No. 11 (6:21 p.m. ET/3:21 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Maple Leaf Mel (9-5 morning line) in the Grade 3, $175,000 Victory Ride Stakes. “New trainer (Melanie Giddings) inherits undefeated speedball for respected August Dawn outfit. Top-shelf rider Joel Rosario stays aboard as NY-bred filly seeks fifth consecutive score. Gal’s as sweet as maple syrup. Wager: Win.”

Los Alamitos Nos. 6-9 (6:43 p.m. ET/3:43 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $1 Pick 4 (cost $48)
Race 6: 1,5,6,9
Race 7: 2,3,5
Race 8: 3,5
Race 9: 2,3

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.