Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for horse races on Saturday, May 13

178

Horse racing Best Bets for Saturday

The Kentucky Derby is behind us, but Team Tuley is still here for our regular weekly readers as we keep looking for value at tracks from coast to coast.
Last Saturday, I thought I had the Derby winner turning for home with Two Phil’s but he was caught by Mage. South Point sportsbook director Chris Andrews gave him out at 15-1 in the VSiN Kentucky Derby Betting Guide. We’re already looking forward to next Saturday’s Preakness Stakes to see if Mage can continue his quest for the Triple Crown (though I can tell you I’m going to be trying to find the horse to upset him!!!). We’re planning to post Team Tuley’s picks for both the Preakness and Friday’s Black-Eyed Susan by Thursday of next week (and I’m sure at least one of us will attack the BES-Preakness Double).
I also had a 9-1 winner on Swan Lake in Gulfstream’s 11th race, so we’ll try to continue our hot spring.
This Saturday, we’re joined by our regulars: Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed, who, by the way, will also have his standalone columns next Friday and Saturday on the Pimlico cards) and Rampart race and sportsbook manager Duane Colucci. So, let’s get to our plays as we deliver on the promise of “looking for value at tracks from coast to coast” as we have picks at Belmont in New York, Monmouth Park in New Jersey, Gulfstream Park in Florida and Santa Anita in California.
Good luck today (and every day)!

 

Belmont Race No. 4 (2:35 p.m. ET/11:35 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Breadman (5-1 morning line). “Five-year-old son of Constitution, winner two of last four, just beginning to figure game out. Trainer Bobby Falcone rehires top NY rider Manny Franco to repeat earlier success. Look for gelding to rise to the occasion. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 6 (3:27 p.m. ET/12:27 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon’s PLAY OF THE DAY is #9 Holding the Line (5-2 morning line) in the ungraded Royal Palm Juvenile Stakes. “Classy trio of trainer Wesley Ward, owner Steve Cauthen and jockey Johnny Velazquez mean business in this 5-furlong stakes race. A win secures spot for Irish-bred youngster at Royal Ascot later in the season. Don’t expect the morning line to hold. Wager: Win.”

Belmont Race 6 (3:40 p.m. ET/12:40 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1 Arcangelo (10-1 morning line) to spring upset in Grade 3, $200,000 Peter Pan Stakes. “Coming off maiden score, 3-year-old jumps into stakes company for Jena Antonucci. Breaking from inside, he has exhibited tactical speed necessary for repeat effort. Recent Kentucky Derby winning rider Javier Castellano returns. Speedy work attests to sharpness. Wager: Win and play top and bottom in Exactas with 5,8,9.”

Dave Tuley also likes #1 Arcangelo (10-1). “I’ll join Mr. Ed on this son of Arrogate to pull the upset. We see this race – which is regarded as a prep race for the Belmont Stakes next month – as very wide open. Wager: Bet 1 to Win and Place, but I’ll go another direction and look for a bigger payoff in Exactas by boxing with the 4,7,8.”

Belmont Race No. 7 (4:12 p.m. ET/1:12 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #12 Fast Study (20-1 morning line). “Long shot pick has been gelded, takes blinkers off, stretches out for maiden turf effort and is coming off sharp work. Youthful rider Katie Davis also a fast study. What’s not to like? Wager: Across-the-board, Win, Place and Show.”

Belmont Race Nos. 8-11 (4:44 p.m. ET/1:44 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)
Race 8: 6,7
Race 9: ALL
Race 10: 3,6,9
Race 11: 2,4,6,11

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $64)
Race 8: 1,2,3,6
Race 9: 1,3,5,6
Race 10: 3,6,8,9
Race 11: 4,12

Monmouth Race No. 10 (5:05 p.m. ET/2:05 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Jupi’s Lightning (8-1 morning line). “This 6-year-old should have company up front, but doesn’t need to be on the lead. He invades from Parx and trainer Felix Flores-Coba is 22% with shippers.Wager: Win and Place.”

Belmont Race No. 9 (5:18 p.m. ET/2:18 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #5 Stage Left (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3, $175,000 Runhappy Stakes. “This David Jacobson runner scored easy in a stakes race at Laurel and loves Belmont, never finishing out of the money. Javier Castellano gets the mount. He and Jacobsen combine for 33% and a $3.06 ROI. Bet 5 to Win and key 5 over 1,2,3 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Santa Anita Races Nos. 6-9 (6:35 p.m. ET/3:35 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)
Race 6: 1,3,4,6
Race 7: 1,2,8,9
Race 8: 1,4
Race 9: 2,3,8

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (7:07 p.m. ET/4:07 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #4 Man Overboard (8-1 morning line). “This 3-year-old gelding won his debut and fits in this optional claiming spot. There’s a ton of speed in this race and it should set up for his closing kick if he can repeat his run last time out. Full speed ahead! Wager: Win and Place.”

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.