Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for Pegasus card, more Saturday stakes races

57

Saturday horse racing Best Bets

Team Tuley continues to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.
This is kind of a down time of the year for horse racing before we get to the main Kentucky Derby preps, but Saturday features a huge Pegasus card at Gulfstream Park. It’s so big, in fact, that our friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) has a separate column at VSiN.com/horse-racing/ as he breaks down the stakes card.
But Sehon also joins us here with some plays at Oaklawn as we’re also joined by Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci and another friend, John Lauro with more plays at Gulfstream as well as Aqueduct and Santa Anita.
Good luck today (and every day)!

Oaklawn Park Race No. 2 (1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT)

 

Ed Sehon likes #1 One for Richie (3-1 morning line) to wire the field. “Speed horse-for-course may never look back from inside post. Gelding rarely misses break. Cipriano Contreras owns and trains, while Franciso Arriera rides. Richie’s about to get richer. Wager: Win.”

 

 

Oaklawn Park Race No. 4 (2:36 p.m. ET/11:36 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #7 Pretti Xtreme (5-2 morning line). “With traffic trouble thwarting stretch move in last as betting choice, vet poised to rebound in mile allowance test. Capable conditioner Karl Broberg retains hot Christian Torres to ride. Looking for mare to be up at wire. Wager: Win and play 7 on top and bottom in Exactas with 3,4,6.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (2:53 p.m. ET/11:53 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $40)
Race 6: 1,2,3,5,6
Race 7: 6,7,8,9
Race 8: 2,3
Race 9: 2,9

Gulfstream Park Race No. 9 (3:01 p.m. ET/12:01 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #9 Value Engineering (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 William L. McKnight Stakes. “This Michael Maker runner loves distance and although his last win was off the turf, it was in dominant fashion. Jose Ortiz retains the mount and has been on fire. Maker hits at 23% with horses coming off a win . Bet 9 to Win and key 9 over 1,3,6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley also likes #9 Value Engineering (8-1). “This 7-year-old gelding steps up in class after scoring in $100,000 ungraded stakes over this track last time out. Should be well off the pace but with a great shot for Jose Ortiz to make one late run. Wager: Win and Place.”

Aqueduct Race No. 7 (3:28 p.m. ET/12:28 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #7 Milton the Monster (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Toboggan Stakes. “Sharp claim by Thomas Morley. This gelding loves an off-track, especially Aqueduct. Manny Franco and his 36% win rate retaining the mount and Morley has a $3.11 ROI when his horse wins its prior race. Bet 7 to Win and key 7 over 6,8,9 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley also likes #7 Milton the Monster (8-1). “Duane and I are in sync in the early stakes races as we both also landed on this 6-year-old gelding that should be able to sit just off the pace under Franco and get the first jump on the other closers. Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Races Nos. 1-5 (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $72)
Race 1: 1,2,3
Race 2: 1,6
Race 3: 3,4,8
Race 4: 1,7
Race 5: 1,2,5,7

Gulfstream Park Race No. 10 (3:34 p.m. ET/12:34 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Mish (6-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Fred W. Hooper Stakes. “This Saffie Joseph Jr. trainee should be the speed of the speed from his inside post to steal this one-mile turf event. I also like that he’s cutting back after coming up short in his last race at 1 1/16 miles. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 10-13 (3:34 p.m. ET/12:34 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $90)
Race 10: 1,4,7,9,10
Race 11: 2,3,6,9
Race 12: 1,3,12
Race 13: 6,10,11

Oaklawn Park Race No. 6 (3:42 p.m. ET/12:42 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon will continue to ride impressive Christian Torres on #5 Ninja Warrior (7-2 morning line). “Expensive son of Speightstown gets nod in pricy sprint. Robertino Diodoro barn scoring at 33% clip. If 4-year-old can repeat last-out 93 Beyer rating, he’ll wire field. Warrior is speed of the speed. Wager: Win.”

Gulfstream Park Race No. 11 (4:06 p.m. ET/1:06 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #3 Wakanaka (5-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Pegasus World Cup Filly and Mare Turf Invitational Stakes. “Strong Win bet in career best form.”

Gulfstream Park Race No. 12 (4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #3 Atone (12-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Pegasus World Cup Turf Invitational Stakes. “Monster win at Aqueduct in November, and then a break with some super workouts here at Gulfstream. Has run well over this course. Irad Ortiz Jr. takes the mount as he and Maker are hitting at 50% when combining at Gulfstream. Bet 3 to Win and key 3 over 1,5,7,12 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Dave Tuley also likes #3 Atone (12-1). “We’re back in step with Colucci as Atone is the value play at 12-1. He steps back into stakes competition off a layoff after a busy summer/fall campaign that concluded with a chalky win in an optional claimer. Maker knows how to place his turf runners, so we definitely expect him to outrun his odds. Wager: Win and Place.”

John Lauro also likes #3 Atone (12-1). “Atone has been working a strong series of drills for Maker. Value play at 12-1. Also using in Exacta Box with #6 Lady Speightspeare (6-1).”

Oaklawn Park Race Nos. 8-11 (4:50 p.m. ET/1:50 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)
Race 8: 1,3,6,7
Race 9: 2,5,7
Race 10: 2,3,6,8
Race 11: 2,7,13 (13 on AE list)

Oaklawn Park Race No. 9 (5:22 p.m. ET/2:22 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes trio: “#2 Ten Gauge (12-1 morning line) features uncommon, but first-class coupling of super trainer Steve Asmussen and leading NY jockey Manny Franco; favorite #5 Barber Road (3-1) public choice; and #7 Call Me Fast (15-1), aka Fast Eddie, bomb completes tickets. Wager: Bet 2,5,7 in Exacta and Trifecta boxes.”

Gulfstream Park Race No. 13 (5:40 p.m. ET/2:40 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes #11 Stilleto Boy (30-1 morning line) in the Grade 1 Pegasus World Cup Invitational. “This long shot ran 3rd last year vs. Life Is Good and Knicks Go, way better competition. Ran very well in the San Antonio and gets “money” Mike Smith, who won the first Pegasus with Arrogate, in the saddle. Bet 11 to Win and key 11 over 1,6,10 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

John Lauro likes #10 Cyberknife (5-2). “Final career start goes out a winner. Should have pace to run at with #5 Defunded (6-1). Box 5-10 in the Exacta. #8 Get Her Number (15-1) should be in the mix. Box Trifecta with 5-8-10.”

Dave Tuley likes #12 O’Connor (10-1). “The featured Pegasus World Cup Invitational has an overabundance of speed horses that could run each other into the ground, so we’re looking for a closer. This 6-year-old looks like the best candidate from the barn of Saffie Joseph Jr., who is 28% with beaten favorites. A return to the form he showed in his U.S. debut in his prior race over this track puts him right in the mix at a price. Wager: Win and Place.”