Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 1/21

397

Team Tuley continues to look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.
Last Saturday, our team had one of our best overall days since starting these weekly columns in the March of 2020 after the start of the Covid pandemic. I went 2-for-2 with my play as Zydeceaux ($21.40 to Win, $7.80 to Place) won Tampa Bay Downs’ 6th race at 9-1 and Tap Dance Fever ($10 to Win, $4.20 to Place) won Tampa Bay Downs’ 7th race at 4-1. Then, Rampart race and sports book manager Duane Colucci gave out the Late Pick 4 at Aqueduct that paid $326.75, Ed Sehon had Cloud Storage ($8.20 to Win, $22.40 Exacta) in Gulftream’s 11th race and Colucci added the Late Pick 4 at Oaklawn that paid $197.85.

 

 

 

We’ll try to stay hot today as we live up to our motto of looking for value from coast to coast as we have plays at Aqueduct in New York, Fair Grounds in Louisiana, Oaklawn in Arkansas and Santa Anita in California.
Good luck today (and every day)!

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (2:47 p.m. ET/11:47 a.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $36)
Race 6: 1,2,3,6
Race 7: 4,5,7
Race 8: 1,5
Race 9: 1,7,8

Fair Grounds Race No. 5 (3:00 p.m. ET/Noon PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Charlie’s Penny (3-1 morning line) in the Marie G. Krantz Memorial Stakes. “Midwest trainer Chris Block reclaims stakes-veteran mare and brings back up-and-coming jockey Jareth Loveberry to ride. Both are having excellent meets. A trio of three maintenance works and return to turf add to pretty-penny appeal. Wager: Win and box in Exactas with price play, #1 Fancy Martini (8-1).”

Fair Grounds Race No. 7 (4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three of these 3-year-old maidens: #3 First Defender (3-1 morning line) and #5 City Nights (7-2), both for powerful Asmussen outfit, plus #8 Kigali (5-1) for upstart Philip Bauer barn. Wager: Box 3,5,8 in Exactas and Trifectas.”

Oaklawn Races Nos. 7-10 (4:24 p.m. ET/1:24 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $36)
Race 7: 2,9,10,11
Race 8: 9,10,11
Race 9: 4,5,7
Race 10: 1,6

Fair Grounds Race No. 8 (4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #2 Price Talk (3-1 morning line) in the Colonel E.R. Bradley Stakes. “Leading conditioner Brad Cox sends gelding out following bad-beat third vs. tougher in Turfway Park stakes. Florent Geroux returns to saddle. Quick recent work says he’s ready to mix it up early. No trash talk about price when he crosses wire on top. Wager: Win.”

Fair Grounds Race No. 10 (5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #1A Silver Bull (9-2 morning line). “Son of Mohaymen makes his second start for trainer Greg Foley in salty allowance, after missing break and closing with a rush in debut last month. Sharp rider Brian Hernandez Jr. retains mount for initial two-turn effort. I see gold in Bull’s eye. Wager: Win and box 1A in Exactas with 3,4,6.”

Fair Grounds Races Nos. 10-14 (5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $60)
Race 10: 1,2
Race 11: 1,2,5,10,11
Race 12: 5
Race 13: 2,3,7
Race 14: 1,3,7,8

Santa Anita Race No. 7 (5:59 p.m. ET/2:59 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #5 Quick Intro (12-1 morning line). “I usually avoid these cheap ($16,000) claimers, but Quick Intro looks like the lone speed and capable of stealing this on the lead. Now, my long-shot plays often have faults that I’m willing to overlook and this gelding is 1-for-13, but none of the others have won two races either as this race is for “nonwinners of 2.” Wager: Win and Place.”

Santa Anita Races Nos. 7-10 (5:59 p.m. ET/2:59 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)
Race 7: 1,3,8,10,11
Race 8: 5,6,7
Race 9: 1,3,7,8
Race 10: 1,5

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (6:29 p.m. ET/3:29 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #7 Tiz an Edventure (6-1 morning line) in the $100,000 Astra Stakes. “This 6-year-old mare knows how to find the winner’s circle at 9-for-17 lifetime and back-to-back wins on different surfaces at Golden Gate. Now she tries the downhill turf course at Santa Anita, which veteran jockey Mike Smith knows well. Smith should have her off the pace and in position for her late kick down the stretch. Wager: Win and Place, plus box 7 in Exactas with 4 and 9, the other closers.”

 

 

 

 

 

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.