Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday 3/11

158

Horse racing Best Bets for Saturday

It’s another very busy sports betting day, but Team Tuley is also on the case as we look for value at horse racing tracks from coast to coast.
Last Saturday, my friend Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed from his VSiN.com/horse-racing/ columns when he’s doing his solo projects) carried us as he hit a $26.20 Exacta and then was joined by Rampart and sports book manager Duane Colucci with a $26.80 Exacta and $51 trifecta before Sehon added a $26.80 winner on Danse Macabre in the Herecomesthebride Stakes at Gulfstream that also completed a $95.80 that he gave out for the previous race.
This Saturday, they both join me again with plays at Aqueduct in New York, Gulfstream and Tampa Bay in Florida, plus Santa Anita in California.
FYI: Next Saturday, we’re going to take the day off as we figure everyone will be focused on the opening weekend of the NCAA Tournament, plus there aren’t any Kentucky Derby prep races that day as we expect the tracks are thinking the same thing. Then, we’ll be back on Saturday, March 25, as there are major Derby prep races the next three weekends and we head full-steam ahead toward the First Saturday in May.
Good luck today (and every day)!

 

Tampa Bay Race No. 5 (1:57 p.m. ET/10:57 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Tap Dance Fever (5-1 morning line). “Top Tampa conditioner Gerald Bennett turns daughter of Tapiture back to 7-furlong sprint after dull Grade 3 route effort at Gulfstream. Gal fits better here. Journeyman Jose Ferrer retains mount. Stayin’ alive, stayin’ alive. Wager: Win and box in Exactas with 2,7.”
Update after early scratches: Use 5 with 2,6 in Exacta boxes

Tampa Bay Race No. 7 (3:02 p.m. ET/12:02 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #10 Talk of the Nation (4-1 morning line). “Sophomore son of Quality Road steps up into Columbian turf stakes after impressive score over the course last month. Shug McGaughey-trained colt can repeat knockout punch with capable Sammy Camacho aboard. Wager: Win and box in Exactas and Trifectas with 1,7,9.”
Update after early scratches: Use 10 with 2,5,9 in Exacta boxes

Tampa Bay Races Nos. 8-11 (3:33 p.m. ET/12:33 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $90)
Race 8: 2,6,7
Race 9: 1,4,6
Race 10: 2,6,10,11
Race 11: 2,3,4,6,12

Tampa Bay Race No. 8 (3:33 p.m. ET/12:33 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Mighty Heart (15-1 morning line). “Early speed fares well at this 1 1/16 mile distance (54% of 29 races). There are other threats for the lead, but we’ll take a shot with Mighty Heart as he returns to dirt after a recent weak effort on the turf. His dirt numbers fit here as does his last race over the track. Wager: Win and Place.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 7-10 (3:55 p.m. ET/12:55 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $48)
Race 7: 2,5,7,8
Race 8: 1,2,4,7
Race 9: 1,4
Race 10: 1,2,10

Tampa Bay Races Nos. 9-12 (4:04 p.m. ET/1:04 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $64)
Race 9: 1,2,4,6
Race 10: 3,6,10,11
Race 11: 3,4,6,9
Race 12: 4,9

Gulfstream Races Nos. 8-12 (4:07 p.m. ET/1:07 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 5 (cost $40.5)
Race 8: 4
Race 9: 3,9,12
Race 10: 3,4,5
Race 11: 4,8,9
Race 12: 5,6,7

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:36 p.m. ET/1:36 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #9 Far Bridge (5-2 morning line). “What’s not to like? Colt earned 89 Beyer winning first out. Powerful jockey-trainer combo of Jose Ortiz and Christophe Clement scores often for legendary Calumet Farm. Son of English Channel bred for turf. No bridge too far for this guy. He’s ready to repeat. Wager: Win. and Daily Double with 5 in next race.”

Gulfstream Race No. 10 (5:06 p.m. ET/2:06 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #5 Cover Me Up (7-2 morning line). “Trainer Brian Lynch picks up expensive gelding after dull Lone Star stakes route, gives him a break by dropping guy into cheaper sprint here. Jose Ortiz rides following steady string of works. Wager: Win (and cover).”

Tampa Bay Race No. 11 (5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #11 Zydeceaux (20-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Tampa Bay Derby. “If you’ve followed my horse racing picks for any time, one theme is I try to find horses before everyone else does (and kills the price). I’d rather be too early than too late. Well, back on Feb. 11, I gave out Zydeceaux in the prep for this race. He went off at 43-1, set the early fractions as expected . . . but then faded to finish fifth. However, I’m taking him again and hoping I was just one race too early. Wager: Win and Place.”

Duane Colucci likes #9 Shesterkin (9-2 morning line). “Chased entry-mate Tapit Trice last time out and that one will be the favorite here. It’s hard to make up 8 lengths, but an improvement each start in his Ragozin numbers will continue. If he gets the jump, his speed may carry. Also adds blinkers for this. Bet 9 to Win and key 9 over 3,4,6 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Santa Anita Race No. 8 (6:59 p.m. ET/3:59 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #3 Awake at Midnyte (10-1 morning line) in the Grade 3 Beholder Mile Stakes. “There’s not a clear-cut front-runner in this race, but we feel this 4-year-old filly could steal this race. Even if she doesn’t inherit the lead, she’s done some of her best running from just off the pace. She does have a bit of seconditis (runner-up in 2 of last 3 races), so hopefully she holds her price to make a Place wager worthwhile. Wager: Win and Place.”

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and in honor of triple crown season - here's a deal for your first month half off.