Mr. Ed’s Gulfstream Best Bets

DOG DAZE OF WINTER: The barking started Saturday at Gulfstream Park (GP) and continued on through the NFL playoffs on Sunday. When all was said and done, Mr. Ed had bagged four pricy scores and a nice Exacta with his Gulfstream best bets, and both his NFL Championships picks, underdogs Kansas City (+2.5) and Detroit (+7.5) were icing on the cashing-tickets cake.

TRACKING MR. ED: Last Saturday at GP was his most profitable racing day on VSiN.com. He posted seven plays costing $242 (after scratches) and cashed tickets on four winners and an Exacta for $538 — resulting in a net return of $296.

 

DERBY PREPS: Mr. Ed continues to sharpen his handicapping skills today at GP with the Holy Bull Stakes card. Elsewhere, Oaklawn Park hosts the Southwest Stakes, Aqueduct features the Withers Stakes and the Robert S. Lewis Stakes tops an excellent program at Santa Anita … Hat’s off to officials at Churchill Downs, who will conduct this year’s Derby Day post position draw a full week ahead of the May 4th Run for the Roses. It’s about time, folks. Welcome to the 21st century!

WHO TO WATCH: Trainers Mark Casse and Todd Pletcher each have six runners entered today at GP. After an ice-cold start, Chad Brown’s barn beginning to heat up … Jockey Irad Ortiz Jr. dominates rider standings … Repole stable is full of quality runners, including two-year champ and early Derby favorite Fierceness in Race 12 today.

MR. ED’s GULFSTREAM PARK BEST BETS: In addition to the Holy Bull, which is worth 42 KD qualifying points to the first five finishers (20-10-6-4-2), the rich card features four other stakes races, where Mr. Ed concentrates his wagering activity. First race post time is 12:10 p.m. ET/9:10 a.m. PT, with the Race 12 Holy Bull set to begin at 5:48 p.m. ET/2:48 p.m. PT. Here are my selections:

Race 5 (2:07 p.m. ET/11:07 a.m. PT) — $91K Optional Claiming, 7 ½ furlongs, turf
Mr. Ed likes #3 LISTENTOTHEMUSIC (10-1 morning line). As regular followers know, trainer Danny Gargan is one of Mr. Ed’s favorite conditioners. This choice is the gelded son of Maclean’s Music. He rallied down the stretch in his latest, finishing a close up fourth. Improving speed figures, solid works and the return of Vasquez point to maximum effort. I’m listening.
GULFSTREAM BEST BETS: $5 Win & Place on 3, $2 Exacta boxes 3/2,4,7. ($22)

Race 8 (3:38 p.m. ET/12:38 p.m. ET)
$175K G3 THE SWEETEST CHANT for 3-year-old fillies, 1 1/16-mile, turf
My pick is #4 PHAROAH’S WINE (6-1 morning line). Seasoned gal has finished in the money in four of five trips to the post. Wiley trainer Dale Romans ships in from Kentucky, naming top jock Luis Saez to ride. Excellent morning drills. I’ll drink to the Pharoah.
GULFSTREAM BEST BETS: $10 Win & Place on 4, $2 Exacta boxes 4/1,8. ($28)

Race 9 (4:08 p.m. ET/1:08 p.m. PT)
$125K SWALE STAKES for 3-year-olds, 7 furlongs, dirt
Mr. Ed likes presumptive favorite #1 BENTORNATO (9-5 morning line). Winner of 4 of 5 over oval, the speedy colt qualifies as horse-for-course as he gets the inside post and turns back to sprint. Trainer Jack Sisterson removes the blinkers and names Edgar Gonzalez to ride. Storm warning.
GULFSTREAM BEST BETS: $10 Win on 1. ($10)

Race 10 (4:38 p.m. ET/1:38 p.m. PT)
$175K G3 FORWARD GAL, 3-year-old fillies, 7 furlongs, dirt
Anytime trainer Chad Brown and jockey Irad Ortiz Jr. team up at fair price, Mr. Ed takes notice. Pick is powerful combo’s #5 NIKITIS (5-1 morning line). Away since early December when she broke her maiden at the Big A, steady works indicate she’s prepared to score again.
GULFSTREAM BEST BETS: $10 Win & Place on 5, $2 Exacta boxes 5,6,7. ($32)

Race 11 (5:08 p.m. ET/2:08 p.m. PT) $175K G3 KITTEN’S JOY, 3-year-olds, 1 1/16-mile, turf
Mr. Ed likes #4 AGATE ROAD (3-1 morning line) for Repole Stable and HOF trainer Todd Pletcher. Colt keeps getting better while posting 4 of 5 in-money finishes. Jockey Jose Ortiz picks up mount from brother Irad.
GULFSTREAM BEST BETS: $10 to Win on 4, $4 Exacta boxes 4 with 5, 9.

SPECIAL $10 DAILY DOUBLES 4 & $5 DOUBLES 5,9 with #7 FIERCENESS (3-5 morning line) in Race 12 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT), $250K G3 HOLY BULL, three-year-olds, 1 1/16 on dirt. ($46)

TOTAL WAGERS: $138

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.