Mr. Ed’s Best Bets on Friday’s Acorn Stakes and undercard at Belmont

398

Mr. Ed’s breakdown of Friday’s Acorn card

HAPPY ACORN FRIDAY: While there will not be a Triple Crown winner this year in the 3-year-old colt division, don’t overlook the sophomore coeds as Friday’s Acorn kicks off their Triple Tiara series at Belmont Park. Friday, in addition to the Acorn Stakes (Race 9 at 5:14 p.m. ET/2:14 p.m. PT), the day’s deep 11-race card includes four other outstanding graded stakes. Again this year, VSiN handicapper Mr. Ed sticks his neck out and offers his fearless thoughts on a majority of the races (below). Note: VSiN’s Adam Burke also gives his breakdown and picks on the Acorn at VSiN.com.
And, Mr. Ed’s picks for Saturday’s loaded 13-race card, featuring the mile-and-a-half Belmont Stakes, will also appear here on VSiN.com/horse-racing/ in addition to “Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes.”
Post time for Friday’s first race is 12:50 p.m. ET/9:50 a.m. PT.

 

Race 3 (1:55 p.m. ET/10:55 a.m. PT)

There’s a lot to like about #5 Blue Plate Special (3-1 morning line) for off-the-claim trainer Dick Dutrow, who stretches young colt out, trusting promising apprentice Jaime Torres to set table for tasty score. Wager: $10 to Win, and
$2 Pick 3
Race 3: 5,6
Race 4: 1
Race 5: 3,4,8 (total cost $22)

Race 5 (3:02 p.m. ET/12:02 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed picks three for the money: #3 Long Term (5-2 morning line) for Pletcher-Gaffalione; #4 Fromanothamutha (7-2) for Handel-Rosario; and #8 Endowed (3-1) for Clement-Irad Ortiz Jr. Wager: $3 Exacta Box ($18).

Race 6 (3:35 p.m. ET/12:35 p.m. PT)

I like #5 Dream Shake (5-1 morning line) to return from 13 months away for sharp trainer Michael Stidham, who claimed gelding from Peter Eurton’s barn. Top-tier rider Joel Rosario accepts assignment to work out dream trip. Shake and bake. Wager: $10 to Win. ($10)

Race 7 (4:08 p.m. ET/1:08 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes trio: #2 Conman (3-1 morning line) for Mark Casse stable; #9 Kreesa (12-1) for David Donk; and #11 Ortus (7-2) for Christophe Clement outfit. Wager: $3 Exacta Box. ($18)

Race 8 (4:41 p.m. ET/1:41 p.m. PT)

My PLAY OF THE DAY is a $0.50 Pick 4
Race 8: 2,7
Race 9: 2,5,6
Race 10: 2,7,11
Race 11: 1,5,6,7,8 ($45)

Race 9 — $500,000 Acorn Stakes for 3-Year-Old Fillies (5:14 p.m. ET/2:14 p.m. PT).
Here’s the field, listed by post position, name, morning line odds, jockey, trainer and comment:

#1 Dorth Vader (10-1), Johnny Velazquez, George Weaver: From another planet
#2 Randomized (5-1), Manny Franco, Chad Brown: Young and fast
#3 Frosty O’Toole (20-1), Luis Saez, Todd Pletcher: Ice cold Irishman
#4 Occult (12-1), Jose Ortiz, Chad Brown: Supernatural also ran
#5 Munnys Gold (9-5), Irad Ortiz Jr., Todd Pletcher: Quickest of all
#6 Pretty Mischievous (2-1), Tyler Gallalione, Brendan Walsh: Mr. Ed’s Win pick
#7 Goodgirl Badhabits (10-1), Jevian Toledo, Brittany Russell: Good effort, bad result
#8 Acede (8-1), Flavien Prat, Chad Brown: Gives way early

Prestigious Grade 1 attracts talented field of eight. Mr. Ed thinks sees race coming down to chalky city — a good old-fashioned stretch throwdown between speedy upstart #5 Munnys Gold and more-seasoned, millionaire closer #6 Pretty Mischievous. Look for aggressive rider to send Munnys Gold from the get-go challenging Pretty Mischievous to come and catch her. Will she? My money says YES.  Randomized, in mix early, holds on for Show. Wager: $20 to Win on 6; $5 Exacta Box of 2,5,6. ($50 total).

Acorn (Race 9, Friday)-Belmont (Race 12, Saturday) Two-Day Double

Mr. Ed’s FAVORITE BET: I’ll take my three Acorn picks and combine them with my top three Belmont selections — #2 Tapit Trice (3-1 morning line), #3 Arcangelo (8-1) and #8 Angel of Empire (7-2). Wager: $5 Doubles of 2,5,6 with 2,3,8. ($45).

TOTAL WAGERS: $198

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.