Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for races on Saturday, July 22

41

Saturday horse racing Best Bets

(Note: This has been updated after early scratches)
We’re in the dog days of summer, but Team Tuley continues to look for value at tracks from coast to coast, highlighted by the just-opened Del Mar meet in California and the Saratoga meet that opened a week ago Thursday.
Last Saturday, Ed Sehon hit a $5 Exacta box in his “Mr. Ed Saratoga Best Bets” column that cost $30 in Race 7 and returned $94.50, while my lone play of the day (as my second pick was scratched) – Chick’s Shadow in Gulfstream’s Race 8 – went off at 23-1 and stalked the pace as I expected, but was just passed in deep stretch. Unfortunately, it was the favorite that beat her, but Chick’s Shadow still paid a very juicy $15 to Place.
However, Rampart race and sportsbook manager Duane Colucci stole the show as his $.50 Pick 5 on Saratoga’s Races 4-8 cost $64 and returned a whopping $983.25.

 

We’ll try to keep cashin’ tickets because – as VSiN founder Uncle Brent Musburger always says – that’s what it’s all about!
On Saturday, Sehon (in addition to his Mr. Ed Saratoga piece at VSiN.com/horse-racing/) joins us with plays at Monmouth, as well as Colucci and another horse racing friend, John Lauro, as we also have plays at Saratoga and Del Mar.
Good luck today (and every day!).

Monmouth Race No. 4 (1:22 p.m. ET/10:22 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon’s BEST BET is #4 American Law (5-2 morning line). “Well-bred gelding ships to Jersey Shore for pricy allowance/claiming sprint. Sharp conditioner Danny Gargan hires skillful Joel Rosario to ride. Pitch last marathon. Justice prevails today. Wager: Win.”

Monmouth Race No. 8 (3:29 p.m. ET/12:29 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Calibrate (7-2 morning line) to capture Grade 3, $400,000 Monmouth Cup. “Jamie Ness barn rehires top-NJ rider Reuben Silvera as f5-year-old seeks to push bankroll past half-million mark. Needs to be close to pace early to figure in outcome. Wager: Win.”

Monmouth Race No. 9 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #8 That’s Right (12-1 morning line) in the ungraded $100,000 Wolf Hill Stakes. “This 4-year colt should be the speed of the speed and a price play to steal this on the front end. But, beware, there is a ton of other early pace in this race and could set it up for #1 Eamonn under super-closing jockey Joel Rosario. So, we’ll bet 8 to Win and Place, but also bet Trifecta wheels on 1,8 with 1,8 with ALL (they must finish 1st and 2nd) as well as 1,8 with ALL with 1,8 (in case they get split 1st and 3rd) to really light up the toteboard.”

Monmouth Race Nos. 9-12 (4:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $80)
Race 9: 2,5,7,9
Race 10: 3,4
Race 11: 3,6,8,9
Race 12: 3,4,5,7,8

Monmouth Races Nos. 10-14 (4:38 p.m. ET/1:38 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 5 (cost $64)
Race 10: 3,4,7,8
Race 11: 1,5,6,9
Race 12: 4,8
Race 13: 5,9
Race 14: 1,5

Saratoga Races Nos. 8-11 (5:02 p.m. ET/2:02 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $36)
Race 8: 1,3,8,9
Race 9: 2,4
Race 10: 6,8,9
Race 11: 1,6,8

Monmouth Races No. 11-12 (5:06 p.m. ET/2:06 p.m. PT)

John Lauro likes #6 Planetario (3-1 morning line) in Grade 1, $600,000 United Nations Stakes. “I really like trainer Richard Mandella to win both big races at Monmouth on Saturday. I recommend a strong Win bet on #6 Planetario in the United Nations and #1 Geaux Rocket Ride (9-2) in the Haskell [Race 12]. Strong Win bets on both and a strong 6-1 Daily Double. I like how Geaux Rocket Ride has recency over the other favorites in the race and I don’t think the track condition favors Tapit Trice as it’s speed-favoring at Monmouth and you need to be on the front end. I think Geaux Rocket Ride from the rail is gonna be hard to catch under jockey Mike Smith. And Mandella doesn’t ship out of town unless he’s serious.”

Monmouth Race No. 12 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes lightly raced #8 Arabian Knight (5-2 morning line) to win Grade 1, $1 million Haskell Stakes and move into the elite class of 3-year-year-olds. Trainer Bob Baffert sticks with Johnny Velazquez as they attempt to go 3 for 3 with talented son of super sire Uncle Mo. Ed says good knight. Wager: Win and Place and over and under 3,4,5,7 in Exactas.”

Dave Tuley likes #2 Awesome Strong (30-1 morning line). “Awesome Strong is obviously stepping up in class, but he’s also being ignored which could give us a huge overlay. I’m gonna assume we can toss his last race at Delaware as maybe he didn’t like the track, but if this 3-year-old repeats the way he stalked the pace in his four prior wins at Gulfstream, he has a chance to be right in contention turning for home at a big price. Wager: Win and Place.”

Duane Colucci likes #4 Mage (3-1 morning line). “The Kentucky Derby winner, prepping for the Travers, needs to sit a little closer to the pace similar to the Preakness. Javy does not want to lose touch with Arabian Knight. Works say Mage is ready, plus the Bob Baffert runner is retunring off a layoff. Key 4 over 1,6,8 in Exactas, Trifectas and reverse.”

Del Mar Race No. 7 (8:05 p.m. ET/5:05 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #2 Very Scary (6-1 morning line) in the ungraded $100,000 Osunitas Stakes. “This 4-year-old filly steps back up in class. We’re hoping her connections (trainer Ian Kruljac and jockey Kent Desormeaxu) put her back on the lead as she could steal this from an inside post as we expect most of the runners in this one-mile turf event to be held back. She also has some in-the-money finishes at this track from last summer that don’t show up on her past performance lines. Wager: Win and Place.”

Del Mar Races Nos. 8-11 (8:35 p.m. ET/5:35 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)
Race 8: 1,3,8,9,10
Race 9: 3,6,11,12
Race 10: 9,10
Race 11: 9,11,13