Mr. Ed’s Belmont at the Big A Best Bets:

STAKES ON THE GRILL AT AQUEDUCT: Four juicy stakes headline Saturday’s penultimate Belmont at the Big A racing card kicking off at 12:35 p.m. ET/9:35 a.m. PT. Following OK results (a pair of chalky winners) on July 4, Mr. Ed has reloaded his handicapping gun and goes hunting for more winning opportunities. Let’s look at his Belmont at the Big A best bets.

Race 2 (1:04 p.m. ET/10:04 a.m. PT) — G2 $200K DWYER HANDICAP for 3YOs at a mile
Mr. Ed takes is betting on #4 SAVE THE TREES (4-1 morning line) in a highly competitive four-colt contest. While a case can be made for any in the quartet, I’m banking on trainer Michael Maker & rider upgrade to Irad Ortiz to keep his record unblemished. Timber!
BELMONT AT THE BIG A BEST BETS: $10 to Win & $10 Daily Double with #2 SCRIPT in next race. ($20)

 

Race 3 (1:34 p.m. ET/10:34 a.m. ET) — $102K ALLOWANCE/CLAIMER for 3YOs & up at 6 furlongs on turf
Turfwriter Mr. Ed likes #2 SCRIPT (5-2 morning line), making his second start back from freshening. Gentleman Graham Motion trains as veteran HOF rider Johnny Velazquez returns to the saddle.
BELMONT AT THE BIG A BEST BETS: $10 to Win and $5 Exacta boxes with 1,5. ($30)

Race 6 (3:08 p.m. ET/12:08 p.m. PT) — G1 $750K BELMONT DERBY INVITATIONAL for select 3YOs at 1 3/16-mile on turf
Well-traveled sophomore #5 ENDLESSLY (6-5 morning line) is my chalky choice to push his bankroll over the $1 million mark. Talented colt gets back on track following disappointing Kentucky Derby. McCarthy trains. Rispoli comes to NY to ride.
BELMONT AT THE BIG A BEST BET OF DAY: $20 to Win. ($20)

Race 8 (4:11 p.m. ET/1:11 p.m. PT) — G2 $200K JOHN NERUD STAKES — for 4YOs & up at 7 furlongs
Mr. Ed’s takes three-for-the-money: #1 EVERSO MISCHIEVOUS (5-2 morning line) for powerful Brad Cox outfit; #2 NINETYPRECENTMADDIE (6-1) for Robert Reid, and #5 MULLIKIN (2-1) for Rudy Brisset.
BELMONT AT THE BIG A BEST BETS: $5 Exacta box of 1,2,5 & $2 Late Pick 4:

R8: 1,2,5
R9: 7
R10: 2,4
R11: 1,6 ($54)

Race 9 (4:42 p.m. ET/1:42 p.m. PT) — G2 $500K BELMONT OAKS for select 3YO fillies at 1 3/16-mile on turf
Mr. Ed likes #7 SHE FEELS PRETTY (2-1) for first-class conditioner Cherie DeVaux and HOF rider Johnny Velazquez. Lone loss in four races was at Breeders’ Cup. Pretty certain she’s a winner again.
BELMONT AT THE BIG A BEST BET: $20 to Win. ($20)

TOTAL WAGERS: $144

SPOT PLAYS
Horseshoe Indianapolis R11 (G3 $200K Indiana Oaks) — #4 NEON ICON (7-2)
Horseshoe Indianapolis R12 (G3 $300 Indiana Derby) — #2 STRONGHOLD (2-1)

MR. ED AT SARATOGA, July 11-Sept. 5
That’s right — 40 straight racing days of Mr. Ed sharing his BEST BETS AT SARATOGA here on VSiN. He’s rested and ready for opening day next Thursday. And, the veteran handicapper is determined as ever to close out the meet on Labor Day with a fistful of winning tickets. After all, cashing tickets is what it’s all about!

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and here's a deal for your first month half off.