Team Tuley’s Thoroughbred Takes for horse races on Saturday 2/25

62

Horse racing Best Bets for Saturday

It’s a busy sports betting day, but Team Tuley is also on the case as we look for value at tracks from coast to coast (though we’re missing racing at Santa Anita with the card being canceled).
Still, we’re joined by regular contributors Ed Sehon and Duane Colucci, race and sports book manager at the Rampart, as we have plays at Gulfstream Park and Tampa Bay Downs in Florida, Aqueduct in New York and Oaklawn in Arkansas.
Good luck today (and every day)!

 

Oaklawn Park Race No. 3 (2:03 p.m. ET/11:03 a.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes three: #2 Perfect Flight (8-1 morning line), #6 Thomas Shelby (4-1) and #8 Max Player (5-1). Wager: 2,6,8 Exacta and Trifecta boxes.

Gulfstream Park Race No. 7 (3:08 p.m. ET/12:08 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #3 Danville (6-1 morning line). “Gelded offspring of Temple City, veteran claimer seeks return to winner’s circle after impressive South Florida debut at mile. With Jose Ortiz away, hot jock Junior Alvarado picks up mount for conditioner Cheryl Winebaugh. Cutback to 7 furlongs fits closeup running style. Wager: Win.”

Aqueduct Races Nos. 6-9 (3:22 p.m. ET/12:22 p.m. PT)

Duane Colucci likes a $0.50 Pick 4 (cost $36)
Race 6: 1,4,8
Race 7: 4,5,7,9
Race 8: 1,3,6
Race 9: 4,6

Oaklawn Park Race No. 6 (3:35 p.m. ET/12:35 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #6 Afternoon Tea (9-2 morning line). “Picking first timers in maiden special weight contests is well outside my handicapping wheelhouse . However, the WinStar Farm-Rodolph Brisset-Favien Prat connection is too strong to resist. Works say daughter of Speightstown fits this afternoon’s profile to a T. Wager: Win.”

Tampa Bay Race No. 7 (3:48 p.m. ET/12:48 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #10 Memphis Showboat (12-1 morning line). “This handicap race sets up for a closer and that should suit Memphis Showboat at a price as the extra 1/16th could also help as she does her best running late. Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Race No. 9 (4:08 p.m. ET/1:08 p.m. PT)

Dave Tuley likes #1 Scaramouche (6-1 morning line) in the $125,000 Gulfstream Park Sprint Stakes. “Scaramouche has had a bohemian lifestyle at a rhapsody of tracks from Parx in Pennsylvania to Aqueduct in New York to Laurel in Maryland to Mahoning Valley Race Course in Ohio and now to Gulfstream Park in Florida. Hopefully he can sit off the pace and fandango over this field.  Wager: Win and Place.”

Gulfstream Park Races Nos. 9-12 (4:08 p.m. ET/1:08 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $1 Pick 4 (cost $54)
Race 9: 2,5,7
Race 10: 6,7,11
Race 11: 2,6,9
Race 12: 5,8

Oaklawn Park Races Nos. 9-12 (5:07 p.m. ET/2:07 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $72)
Race 9: 1,2,9
Race 10: 2,3,7,8
Race 11: 3,4,6,7
Race 12: 4,5,7

Duane Colucci likes a $.50 Pick 4 (cost $60)
Race 9: 2,4,9,10
Race 10: 2,3,7,8,12
Race 11: 1,5,6
Race 12: 1,10

Oaklawn Park Race No. 11 (6:23 p.m. ET/3:23 p.m. PT)

Ed Sehon likes #4 Gun Pilot (8-1 morning line) in the Grade 2 Rebel Stakes. “Traditional Arkansas-based Triple Crown prep features stout field of 11 sophomores, many with solid credentials. The recent return of go-to pilot Ricardo Santana to the Steve Asmussen barn, after a temporary parting of the ways, points to a successful reunion. Pull the trigger, Ricardo. Wager: Win and box in Exactas with 3,6,7.”