Jeff Siegel’s Horse Racing Picks for 12/31

56

Xpressbet writer Jeff Siegel offers his top plays for Saturday with both at Santa Anita.

Santa Anita Race No. 2 (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT)
#2 Impossible Task (3-1)

 

Went stale during the fall, was given a breather, returns on a class drop to the $50,000 claiming level and should benefit significantly from the time off and the easier competition in this main track mile affair. The John Sadler-trained gelding is a two-time winner over the Santa Anita main track, and in a race with a projected moderate pace scenario he should be capable of returning to winning form. At or near his morning line of 5-2 he’s a Win play and rolling exotic single.

Santa Anita Race No. 6 (5:33 p.m. ET/2:33 p.m. PT)
#6 Houndstooth (3-1)

There’s not much early speed signed on in this starter’s allowance extended sprint, so this improving sprinter, second in a similar affair here last fall, should have his chances enhanced by the projected soft early fractions. Solid on numbers, the Steve Miyadi-trained gelding is listed at 3-1 on the morning line and offers a reasonable gamble at that price.