Mr. Ed’s Saratoga bankroll plays for Saturday 9/3

16

Editor's note: last summer, Ed Sehon (aka Mr. Ed) called this column "Saratoga on (about) $100 a Day." This year, he's just doing the weekend cards (Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays) but still approaching each day with around $100 in plays as if he was just trying to beat the races on a given day. Here are his plays for Saturday:

Races 1-2 (12:05 p.m. ET/9:05 a.m. PT)

 

$10 SPECIAL DAILY DOUBLE
Bet #8 General Jim (3-1 morning line) in opener and #7 Powerful (2-1) to seal double deal.

(cost $10)

Race 2 (12:37 p.m. ET/9:37 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes #7 Powerful (2-1 morning line) as his BEST BET of day. Steve Asmussen sends out expensive son of Nyquist following head-bob loss in debut effort. Jockey change to hot Jose Ortiz and extra furlong powerful winning recipe. Wager: $20.

(cost $20)

Race 3 (1:12 p.m. ET/10:12 a.m PT)

I like these three: #1 Aussie Pride (6-1 morning line) for Rosario-Mott duo; #6 Up to the Mark (2-1) for Irad Ortiz and Casse team; and #8 No Burn (4-1) for Davis-Barrera. Wager: $2 Exacta and $1 Trifecta Boxes.

(cost $18)

Races 5-8 (2:16 p.m. ET/11:16 a.m. PT)

Mr. Ed likes $0.50 Pick 4
Race 5: 1,4,11
Race 6: 2,5,9
Race 7: 1,5,6
Race 8: 3,6,10

(cost $40.50)

Race 9 (4:35 p.m. ET/1:35 p.m. PT)

I like four for the money: #2 Analyze It (5-2 morning line); #5 Graded On a Curve (8-1); #6 Monition (8-1); and #10 Eyes On Target (7-2). Wager: $2 Exacta Box and $1 Trifecta Box.

(cost $36)

Race 11 (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT)

Mr. Ed picks #5 Americanrevolution (3-1 morning line) to capture the Grade 1, $1 million Jockey Club Gold Cup. Four-year-old son of Constitution is rested and ready to romp over course where he scored last summer in Albany Stakes. Joel Rosario gets leg up from Hall of Famer Todd Pletcher. Recent :47 4/5 work indicates he’s super fit. Bet $20 to Win.

(cost $20)

TOTAL WAGERS: $144.50