Preakness and Pimlico Best Bets

TRACKING MR. ED: Last week, he bet $140 (after scratches), cashed a Win ticket for $89 and scored an Exacta for $117. Net profit for day: $66. Yesterday, he posted (after scratches) bets of $140, cashing a $10 Win-Place ticket in Race 5 for $53; a $5 Place & Show ticket in Race 9 for $25. In the Black-Eyed Susan, he had $10 Win & Place on winner #5 GUN SONG for a total return of $52 (pending results of Preakness Double) Net result: No blood. Looking ahead for Saturday’s Pimlico best bets, he has winner (#5 GUN SONG) of Race 13 Black-Eyed Susan linked up in $5 Doubles with #5 MYSTIK DAN, #8 TUSCAN GOLD and #9 IMAGINATION in the Preakness Stakes.

PREAKNESS DAY: The 100th running of the Preakness Stakes, the second jewel in the Triple Crown series, is scheduled for post at 7:01 p.m. ET/4:01 p.m. PT. The race lost some of its glitter — but none of its GOLD — early in the week with the scratch of Bob Baffert’s MUTH, and to further complicate the handicapping puzzle, inclement weather is expected throughout the day. The stakes-laden, 14-race card goes off at 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT. On a personal note, a youthful Mr. Ed was at Pimlico on Preakness Day in 1972 to see the immortal Secretariat finish fourth as a 2YO maiden, and in 1973 to see him win the Preakness.

 

Mr. Ed’s Best Bets

Race 7 (2:08 p.m. ET/11:08 a.m. PT) — G3 $100K GALLORETTE STAKES, fillies & mares 3YOs & up at 1 1/16-mile on turf
Mr.Ed likes #7 FLUFFY SOCKS (6-5 morning line), who holds a distinct class edge over a rather ordinary field. Chad Brown trains as top jock Irad Ortiz Jr. retains the mount. Socks it to me.
PIMLICO BEST BET: $20 to Win. ($20)

Race 8 (2:48 p.m. ET/11:48 a.m. PT) — G3 $100K MARYLAND SPRINT STAKES, 3YOs & up at 6 furlongs
I like #4 JAXON TRAVELER (6-1 morning line), a solid horse-for-course, who sports an excellent 6-3-2 record over the Pimlico oval.  Winner of more than $900K, son of Mummings trained by Steve Asmussen and ridden by Flavien Prat.
PIMLICO BEST BET: $10 Win & Place. ($20)

Race 9 (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT) — $100K JAMES W. MURPHY STAKES for 3YOs at a mile on the turf
Mr. Ed likes super-fast, Maryland-based gelding #5 SPEEDYNESS (10-1 morning line). A proven winner on dirt, gelding makes turf debut while cutting back to a mile. Sharp Jamie Ness trains and Jaime (no relation) Rodriguez rides. Speed to spare.
PIMLICO BEST BETS: $5 Win and box in $5 Exactas with 4,7,12. ($35)

Race 10 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT) — $100K SIR BARTON STAKES for 3YOs at 1 1/16 mile.
I like three for the money: #5 CORPORATE POWER (9-5 morning line) for Shug McGaughey; #8 TUSCAN SKY (5-2) for Todd Pletcher, and #10 IMPERIAL GUN (7-2) for Steve Asmusen.
PIMLICO BEST BET: $5 Exacta box of 5,8,10. ($30)

Races 10-13 (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT)

MR. ED’S BEST $.50 PICK 4 BET:
R10: 5,8,10
R11: 6,10,11,12
R12: 3,4,9
R13: 8,9 ($36)

Race 13 (7:01 p.m. ET/4:01 p.m. PT) — G1 $2 Million PREAKNESS STAKES for 3YOs at 1 3/16 mile
MR. ED likes #8 TUSCAN GOLD (9-2 morning line) for stakes-winning Chad Brown’s stable. Trainer knows how to spot horses for maximum result — and this one fits the formula. Making only his fourth start, the pricy colt has improved significantly with each start. Look for him to stalk pacesetters and prevail in the stretch. Tip-top Tyler Gaffalione rides. Go for the gold.
MR. ED’S BEST PREAKNESS BETS: $30 To Win and $5 Exacta box of 5,8,9. ($60)

TOTAL WAGERS: $201

Want unlimited access to horse racing articles + expert picks, pro analytics and betting tools? Become a VSiN Pro and unlock your access today!  ....oh, and in honor of triple crown season - here's a deal for your first month half off.